Skip to main content

Biomedical Engineering: Databases
(Articles)

Research Guide

Access to Emory Resources

Please note: Remote access to Emory electronic resources is available only to those students with joint enrollment, and to those faculty with joint appointments.  Access is granted via the Emory proxy server, and requires an EMORY log-in and password. The GT log-in/password will NOT provide remote access to the Emory electronic journals or databases.

Database Facts

The GT Library has 260+ databases.

All databases are accessible through the Find Articles (Databases) Page. Subject specific databases are also accessible on this Research Guide.

In order to access the GT Library databases you must be enrolled for a class in the current semester.

You can access databases off-campus. You will simply need to provide your GT username and password.

When using most style formats, you will need to cite an article from a database differently than an article from a print publication.

Locating the Full Text of an Article

How do you find the full text of an article you need?

A: If you are in a full-text journal database (e.g. JSTOR), look for a HTML or Acrobat PDF icon on the article’s citation page. 

A: If you are in an index/abstracts database (e.g. Medline, Web of Science), look for a full text link or an Acrobat PDF icon next to the article's citation information. If neither appears, select the Find It@GT link or icon which will lead you to the full text, if available  ---  and to information on the print version, if available.

A: If you are NOT in a database, search the GT Catalog by journal title (NOT article title). The catalog search will lead you to:

  • electronic access records [electronic resource/online record] --> click on the Find It@GT  link
  • print access records --> check the dates of our subscription to verify that we have the volume and issue you need; the catalog record will indicate the location of the volume you seek
  • no match in the catalog --> search the ejournals list
  • no match in the ejournals list --> request the article you need via Interlibrary loan (ILLIAD). Most requests are filled within a few days and are delivered to you electronically, usually free of charge.

 

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804