This is the "Home" page of the "EndNote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EndNote  

EndNote is a bibliographic and citation manager used to manage references for papers and other research.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.gatech.edu/EndNote Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Direct Connect

  EndNote includes over 4000 connection files, including the one for GA Tech, though it is listed as Georgia IT.  You may want to rename this file as Georgia Tech.

You can use the Connection Manager in EndNote to find and download individual connection files.
To download individual connection files:

  1. From the Edit menu in EndNote, choose Connection Files and then Open Connection Manager.
  2. Click Get More on the Web to start your default browser and go to the appropriate page on the EndNote website. 
  3. Click Accept to accept the Terms of Use. 
  4. Browse through an alphabetical listing of the available connection files, and Download those files you want to install. 
  5. Copy the downloaded files to your Connections folder, which is typically located at: Program FilesEndNoteX3Connections.

Or you may download the Gt Connection File software directly from here.

It is also directly available on the Citations and Bibliographies page in the Georgia Tech Connection File box.

 

About EndNote


 

EndNote is a program for managing bibliographic citations. It can automate much of the work of organizing and formatting citations and bibliographies in your writing. EndNote can connect to online sources such as those from the library's website and GIL, output results in over 1,000 different bibliographic styles, and more.

 

 

EndNote is available free of charge to GA Tech students, faculty and staff. 

 

Where to Get Help

Don't get discouraged if it takes a little while to get comfortable using EndNote. With a little practice it isn't difficult, and there are many resources available for help and information.

  • EndNote's built-in help system: just press F1
  • EndNote manual in PDF format: in Windows XP, click Start Menu / All Programs / EndNote / EndNote Manual
  • ISI's EndNote support page
  • ISI's EndNote Tutorials

Downloading Updates: Connection Files, Import Filters, Output Styles

A common way to correct a problem with importing or outputting citations is simply to update the connection file, filter or output style. These can be downloaded from ISI's EndNote support page.

 

Downloading EndNote

  1. Go to Office of Information Technology home page -
    http://www.oit.gatech.edu/home/index.cfm

  2. Select “Software” (left hand side) > select “Software Distribution”

  3. You will see two drop-down boxes on top of page. You must select your Affiliation (faculty, student, staff, etc.)

  4. Page will appear with all available software – including Endnote 

  5. Select ”Request Software” (right hand side) and enter your GT ID user name and password.
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I use one library file for all my references, or separate libraries for different projects?

It may be easiest to use one library for everything and set up a separate group of references for each project, but it's entirely up to you.  EndNote works fine with multiple library files.

I already have a long bibliography that I typed in Word. Can I convert it to an EndNote library?

Unfortunately there's no way to do this automatically. The best way is to search for your references online (if possible) and download them into EndNote.

How do I download search results from my favorite database into EndNote?

Every database works a little differently. In general, the procedure is:

  1. Search the database as usual.
  2. Choose the references you want to save.
  3. Use the database's Save or Export function.  There's often a choice to export to EndNote, or save references in a text file that EndNote can read via Import on the File menu.

I tried using EndNote's Online Search feature to search a database, but it asks for a password.

Online Search works best with library catalogs like GIL (listed as Georgia Tech) or free databases like Pubmed.  Most databases work best by exporting from your browser rather than using EndNote's Online Search function.

How do I add page numbers to an in-text citation?

Right-click the formatted citation and choose "Edit Citation" from the menu. Fill in the page numbers (including spaces and punctuation) in the "Pages" field, click OK, then reformat your bibliography.

 

EndNote Training Sessions

Hands-on training sessions are offered each semester for EndNote.  (list of classes available)

 

These hands-on sessions will include:
• Downloading records/citations from science & engineering & other bibliographic databases (Web of Science, INSPEC, Compendex, etc.)
• Entering records manually into an EndNote library
• Connecting to, and searching, library catalogs directly through EndNote
• Organizing your references in the EndNote database
• Manipulating records (sorting, formatting, etc.) within EndNote
• Importing records/citation into Word and creating a formatted bibliography.

 


No pre-registration is needed for these sessions.

Please contact Lori Critz  (Phone: 404-385-4392, Email: lori.critz@library.gatech.edu) if you need additional information.

 

License

This guide is based on a guide created by Jason Puckett that is licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

Additional content created, added, and edited by Cirrus Gundlach in conjunction with the Georgia Institute of Technology's library.

 

Link to Library Homepage

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip