Skip to main content

English 1101 & 1102 - Library Research & Resource Basics: Finding Articles

Searching Library Databases

The Library provides access to over 230 databases. Some are general databases which contain information on a wide variety of subjects, and others are subject-specific, containing information relevant to a particular discipline or topic. 

Accessing an Article

Once you find an article you would like to access in a database, look first for whether it is available in PDF or full-text HTML. If not, look for the  Find It @ GT button, which will allow you to search across most of the library databases to see if we have full-text of an article available anywhere. When you click on Find It @ GT you should get a pop-up window including several options for accessing the article:

Full-text - if this option is available, you should be able to gain access to a PDF or HTML version of the article through one of our database. If this option does not appear, then the library does not own full-text access to this item. 

We May Have a Copy in Print - clicking on this link will search the GT Catalog to see if we own a print copy of the journal or book where the article or essay is located. If found, you will need to go to the stacks to retrieve the item and photocopy or scan the article on your own.

Request from Another Library - clicking on this link will take you to the Georgia Tech Interlibrary Loan system.  If we do not own a copy of an article or book chapter (or book) you can request to have it loaned to our library through Interlibrary Loan. If it is an article or book chapter, you should be sent a scanned PDF copy of the article. If it is a full book, you will be notified of the loan period for the item. 

Helpful General Databases for English 1101/1102

Humanities Liaison Librarian

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804