Skip to main content

Architecture Guide: Home

Getting Started: Searching Multiple Databases

                                            VIDEO: What is a Database & Why You Need Them   (Vavapai College Library video)

                                             

                                          (Use Articles+ Tab on Library Home page to search multiple Databases)

Specific Library Databases for Architecture

Oxford Art Online   (Use for historical architecture). Encyclopedia of Art/Architecture. Check Bibliography for references. Images of influential buildings included.

JSTOR  (Use for historical architecture).  Database of scholarly journals. All articles are Full-text with scanned images.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals  (Use for contemporary architecture). Not ALL articles are Full-text. Use ILLiad to receive the full-text articles. Use Advanced Search for drawings about an architect or building.      VIDEO on how to search Avery Index ***

BuildingGreen.com   Access to Environmental Building News, codes, LEED, sustainable materials, design strategies, and GreenSpec Directory of building products

Birkhauser: Building Types Online   850 selected case studies of buildings (past 30 years) featuring high quality drawings and photos.

CumInCAD    Computer-aided architectural design research from journals & conferences such as ACADIA. Users MUST register at website to access the full-text. Click on "New Users" on left side of page.

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804