Skip to main content

Patents & Trademarks: IP Research

Patent Statistics and Resources

Notable People in IP 

IP Hall of Fame

Local patent statistics:

Patenting In Atlanta Metropolitan Area Breakout by Institution (2000-2013, Utility)

Georgia Patenting Breakout by County (2000-2013, Utility)

 

U.S. patent statistics:

U.S. Patent StatisticsUSPTO calendar and fiscal year statistics.

U.S. Patent All Technologies – US Patent calendar year statistics - all technologies (1989-2014)

U.S. Patent DashboardUSPTO patents production data visualization

 

International patent statistics:

European patents and patent applicationsAnnual statistics on European patents and patent applications.

WIPO Intellectural Property Statistics  International statistics on patents, utility models, marks, industrial designs, plant varieties and microorganisms.

Trilateral Statistical Reports (EPO, JPO, USPTO)Annual patent statistics compiled by the European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office and U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

IP5 Statistics Reports- Include more detailed breakdowns of filings by technical areas in Chapter 4.

OECD Statistics - PatentsStatistical reports and studies of scientific and technical research, funding and patent output. (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)

World Intellectual Property Indicators 2014 (WIPO)

World Intellectual Property Report 2015 (WIPO)

 

 

International IP offices:

Canadian Intellectual Property Office - Canadian Intellectual Property Office page that includes a searchable database of Canadian patents.

China State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) - The page for State Intellectual Property Office of the P.R.C. that includes a searchable database of China patents.

Directory of Intellectual Property Offices (from WIPO) - Alphabetical List of Intellectual Property Offices, including contract details and web sites.

European Patent Office (EPO) - EPO provides a uniform application procedure for individual inventors and companies seeking patent protection in up to 40 European countries.

IPAustralia - IP Australia administers Australia's IP rights system, specifically patents, trade marks, designs and plant breeder’s rights.

Japan Patent Office - Japan Patent Office site with information on the patenting process in Japan and related issues. (English version)

Other Intellectual Property Offices (from USPTO) - A listing from the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office's Related Web Sites page containing links to most international patent offices.

PCT Resources (WIPO) - Includes legal, filing information and training documents.

The Five IP Offices (IP5) - The Five IP Offices (IP5) include EPO, JPO, KIPO, SIPO, and USPTO.

Trilateral (EPO, JPO, USPTO) - The Trilateral Offices process the majority of all patent applications filed worldwide, including PCT applications.

WIPO Gold - The Global IP Reference Resource - A free public resource which provides a one-stop gateway to WIPO’s global collections of searchable IP data.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) - WIPO is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It is dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system, which rewards creativity, stimulates innovation and contributes to economic development while safeguarding the public interest.

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804