Skip to main content

Patents & Trademarks: Patent Databases by Category

Patent Databases by Category

U.S. Patents
 
  • Patents at USPTO  
    Search for U.S. issued patents or patent applications from 1790. (Patents from 1790 through 1975 are searchable only by patent number and current US Classification)
  • Google Patents  
    Search for U.S. patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months.
  • Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR)  
    To retrieve and download information regarding patent application status securely.
  • Patent Assignment Query  
    Contains all recorded U.S. Patent Assignment information from August 1980 to current.

Foreign Patents

  • esp@cenet  
    Search for European and international patents (90+ countries) and export patent to Excel, etc.
  • Derwent Innovations Index  
    Search for over 35 million international patent applications from 47 patenting authorities worldwide from 1963 on.
  • Patent Scope  
    Search for over 1.7 million international patent applications and view the latest information and documents available to the International Bureau.
  • Patent Lens  
    Search and retrieve the full-text of over ten million patent documents from US, Europe, Australia and WIPO, export patent data into Excel, EndNote (one record a time) and check patent family and status and counterparts up to 70 countries.
  • Free Patents Online  
    A search engine which allows advanced search techniques such as word stemming, proximity searching, relevancy ranking, as well as chemical search. Search for U.S. and international patents.

Patent Images/Documents

  • pat2pdf.org  
    A free sites for downloading full image (PDF) U.S. patents.
  • Patent Fetcher  
    Search by a U.S. patent number and freely print the patent as a pdf file.

Specialty Patent Databases:

  • DOE Patents  
    DOEpatents is the U.S. Department of Energy's central collection of patent information from 1940 on.
  • DATAMP  
    A collection of antique tool and woodworking machine patents.
  • DNA Patent Database (Duke)  
    Search for DNA-based patents and patent applications issued by USPTO.
  • USPTO Dataset (Reed Tech)  
    Search sequences that are specifically listed in U.S. patents and published patent applications.

Patent Data Downloading:

  • USPTO Bulk Downloads: Patents (Google Patents)  
    Download U.S. patent grants, patent application publications and other data, such as patent assignment. Also available is the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) data, which is the full "wrapper" for a patent application.
  • esp@cenet  
    Search for European and international patents (90+ countries) and export patent to Excel, etc.
  • Patent Lens  
    Search and retrieve the full-text of over ten million patent documents from US, Europe, Australia and WIPO, export patent data into Excel, EndNote (one record a time) and check patent family and status and counterparts up to 70 countries.
  • Covers US patents (grants, published applications, assignments, classification information, and maintenance fee events), and US trademarks (registrations, applications, assignments, and TTAB proceedings).

Other Patent Databases

  • ip.com  
    Ip.com provides two retrieval facilities for locating documents. 1) a full-text search engine which indexes the words in each document; 2) a powerful "concept query" search engine which analyzes the words in each document and maps those words into "concepts."
  • PatSnap  
    Search, export, analyze patent info.
  • ArchPatent  
    Search US Patent applications, assignments, and grants back to 1920. Unique filtering and sorting tools for intuitive searching. Custom work space for saving searches and patents
  • poxoq  
  • Historical US Patent and Trademark Databases

 

International Patent Offices/Databases:

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804