Here is the information you typically need in order to cite the following types of sources. We also have some tips to help you decipher citations so that you can figure out the type of information source being cited. This can help you locate useful sources that you might find in bibliographies or lists of references in your reading.
Levitt Steven D. and Stephen J. Dubner. Freakonomics: a rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything. New York : William Morrow, 2005.
|Title||Freakonomics: a rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything|
|Author(s)||Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner|
|Place of publication||New York|
Clues that this is a book:
To find a specific book, you can search the Library Catalog by author or title.
|Author(s)||Weiss, David J.; Shanteau, James|
|Journal Title (title of the journal or magazine in which the article appears)||Human Factors
|Journal volume and issue||Volume 45 Issue 1|
|Date of the Article||Spring 2003|
|Page numbers for the article||104-116|
Clues that this is a print article:
If you have a citation to a specific article that you are interested in finding, you can search the Library Catalog or the Electronic Journals List for the title of the journal.
Computational intelligence techniques for a smart electric grid of the future
Zhenhua Jiang. Advances in Neural Networks. Proceedings 6th International Symposium on Neural Networks, ISNN 2009, p 1191-1201, 2009
|Paper Title||Computational Intelligence Techniques for a Smart Electric Grid of the Future|
|Conference Title||Advances in Neural Networks: Proceedings 6th International Symposium on Neural Networks|
Clues that this is a conference paper:
To find a specific conference proceeding (the proceeding is the collection of all the papers presented at the conference) search the Library Catalog for the name of the conference.
Bick, Julie. "The Long (and Sometimes Expensive) Road to the SAT." New York Times 28 May 2006, Section 3 p6.
|Article Title||The Long (and Sometimes Expensive) Road to the SAT|
|Newspaper title||New York Times|
|Date||May 28, 2006|
|Edition or Section||3|
Clues that this is a newspaper article:
If you have a citation to a specific newspaper article that you are interested in finding, you can search the Library Catalog or the Electronic Journals List for the title of the journal.
|Author(s)||Bliss, Ann V.|
|Journal volume and issue||Volume 67 Issue 2
|Page numbers for the article||96-99|
|Database where you found the full-text of the article||MLA Bibliography
|Database platform||EBSCO Host|
|Database provider (library or other group which provided access to the database)||Georgia Tech Library
|Web address of the database||http://web.ebscohost.com/ehost/|
Clues that this is an online article:
Like print articles, you can search the Library Catalog or the Electronic Journals List for the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine to see if we have access to the publication here at the library.
(all of the elements might not be available for each web page)
NationMaster, http://www.nationmaster.com/index.php. 2009. Accessed November 19, 2009.
|Author||no author listed|
|Title of web page||NationMaster|
|Web site host or publisher||NationMaster.com|
|Date of copyright or date page was updated||2009|
|Date you accessed the page|| November 19, 2009
Clues that this is a web page:
Thanks to Utah State for the permission to use and modify the "Elements of a Citation" and "Why You Should Cite Your Sources" material.
1. Citations reflect the careful and thorough work you have put into locating and exploring your sources.
2. Citations are a courtesy to the reader, who may share your interest in a particular area of scholarship. They help readers understand the context of your argument, and locate your work within other conversations on your topic.
3. Citations allow you to acknowledge those authors who made possible particular aspects of your work. Failure to provide adequate citations constitutes plagiarism!
4. Citations, by delineating your intellectual debts, also draw attention to the originality and legitimacy of your own ideas.
From: Sources: Their Use and Acknowledgement. Copyright © 1998 Trustees of Dartmouth College. (www.dartmouth.edu/~sources)
For a similar guide to reading citations for even more formats, see the following: