Skip to main content

Company Information: Company Directories

Research Guide for Company Information resources

Co Directories

National:

D&B Million Dollar Database - More than 30 million companies worldwide

Reference USA - 40 million U.S. businesses

     also, New Businesses module - about 4 million companies

Mergent Intellect - more than 70 million US companies, plus more than 200 million global companies. Replaces D&B Million Dollar Database

Nexis Uni  - for Company Dossier - select "Menu" (info. from LexisNexis Directory of Corporate Affiliations) Database cancelled by state consortia, summer 2019

     (also, Library has print eds. offsite, Library Services Center, from 1967 -- to date - HG4057.A219)

PrivCo - 400,000 private US companies. Focus is on funding rounds; investors

ThomasNet   (print directory, Thomas Register, from 1905-2006 in microfilm - offsite, Library Services Center - TS199.T45)

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies  - 100,000 companies - via Gale Directory Library database

Brands and Their Companies - via Gale Directory Library; print eds. offsite, Library Services Center - T223.V4 A2225x

 

____________________________________________________________________

Companies and Their Brands  (companion to above print title; online is the same) offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  T223.V4 A253)

Corporate Yellow Book (offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  HG4057.A15646)

D&B Business Rankings  (offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  HG4057.A237)

D&B Consultants Directory  (offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  HD69.C6 D86x)

D&B Industrial Guide (offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  TS203.D8)

Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources   (offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  HG64.P73)

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations...  (offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  HG4057.A4 )

Local and State:

D&B Million Dollar Database - more than 30 million companies worldwide

Reference USA  - 40 million businesses (can search by zip, county, MSA, state)

       New Businesses module ; Historical Businesses module (most recent 10 years)

Mergent Intellect - more than 70 million US companies, plus more than 200 million global companies. Replaces D&B Million Dollar Database

Corporation Search (GA Secretary of State website)

Atlanta Business Chronicle Book of Lists (December issue) -  at Library Services Desk

Georgia Business Directory, offsite at Library Services Center - from 1989 to about 2016 (some gaps) REFERENCE - HF5056.G4 G46

Georgia Manufacturers Register   (offsite, Library Services Center, HD9727.G4 G43 - library has from 1992-2003 (some gaps))

Official Georgia Manufacturers Directory  (offsite, Library Services Center, REFERENCE  HF5065.G4 H37)

 

 

International:

Mergent Intellect - more than 200 million global companies. Replaces D&B Million Dollar Database

D&B Million Dollar Database - more than 30 million companies worldwide

Canadian Businesses - about 2 million companies (access via Reference USA platform)

Nexis Uni - Company Dossier (select "Menu) - includes many countries, but limited search capabilities. Database cancelled by state consortia, summer 2019.

______________________________________________________________________

D&B Principal International Businesses  (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HF54.U5 P74)

Europe's 15,000 Largest Companies (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE   HD2356.E9 E93)

Who Owns Whom. Australasia, Asia, Middle East and Africa  (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HG4009.W462)

Who Owns Whom. North and South America  (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HG4009.W464)

Who Owns Whom. United Kingdom and Ireland   (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HG4009.W465)