Skip to main content

EndNote: Adding References

EndNote is a bibliographic and citation manager used to manage references for papers and other research.

Entering References by Hand

The most basic way to enter a reference is by typing it in.  Click References menu / New Reference.  Remember to enter multiple author names on separate lines.  Seperate them using the return or enter key.  Press Tab to move between fields.

You can enter author names either last name first with a comma ("Smith, Jane") or first name first ("Jane Smith").

Tip: When entering a corporate or institutional author name like "Georgia Institute of Technology" or "Centers for Disease Control", enter a comma after the name. This will prevent EndNote from inverting or abbreviating the name as it would for an individual author's.

Searching from within EndNote

This video shows how to search from directly within EndNote.

References Directly from Web of Science

Use this method to directly send references from Web of Science to EndNote.  Many other databases work in similar ways when directly importing or exporting references to EndNote from the database.  If there are any questions, please see the help section listed in the upper right-hand box.

Saving Citations from Online Databases

Search the database via the web interface as you normally would. Select the references you want, then save or export them. Every database works a little differently, so check here for instructions for a particular database.

Most databases can export to EndNote with these general steps:

  1. Select the citations you want to save with an Add button or check box.
  2. Look for a Save or Export button.
  3. Choose "Save to EndNote" or "Export to your bibliographic software" or a similar option.
  4. EndNote will usually recognize that your browser is sending citation data and open automatically to save it to your library.

Using Import Filters

Not all databases offer the direct export option. For those that don't you can use EndNote's import filters to transfer the reference data into your EndNote library. Here's how:

  1. Save the results you wish to keep in a text file
  2. From EndNote's File menu, choose Import
  3. Select the text file that contains your saved results
  4. From the Import Options menu, select Other Filters
  5. Select the filter that corresponds to the database your results came from
  6. Click the Import button

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804