Skip to main content

Chemistry and Biochemistry: Databases

getting full text articles

The Find it at GT button will link you to the articles that are available online; & to the corresponding print version, when available, on our shelves. It will also link you to the Interlibrary Loan form to request articles not available in print or online. For journals available in print only, use the Library Catalog to locate the record. Please always pay attention to the coverage information.

Major Databases

The most comprehensive source for accessing chemical literatures. This database has a wealth of information for more than 64 million organic and inorganic substances, which can be searched by chemical structures or biological sequences; by substructures or reactions; and by research topic, author, company, or substance name.   

Reaxys

A new web-based platform for the search and retrieval of organic, inorganic and organometallic chemical information by reaction, structure, property data and text.

Web of Science

This database has 23000 journals, lots of patents, conference proceedings, websites, and etc. It also offers tools to access, analyze, and manage information.

Knovel Library

With a focus on engineering and scientific references, the collection contains over 800 books. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, chemical engineering, and nanotechnology. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.

why use databases

  • Database can quickly scan many sources over many years for you to retrieve matches on your topic so that you can avoid flipping through pages of journals/magazines.
  • An essential tool to verify citation information
  • To gain access to full-text of some materials
  • To obtain specially packaged or commercial information products (e.g. statistics or price information about chemical compounds)

Type of databases

  • Bibliographic databases (e.g. Compendex, SciFinder, and etc.) – provide a descriptive record including such things as author, title, subject, publisher, abstract etc. of an item, but the item itself is not provided in the database.
  • Full-text databases (e.g. Knovel, CRCNetBase, and etc.)  – provide the full-text of publications.
  • Combination databases (e.g. Academic Search Premier, Web of Science and etc.) – contain a combination of the bibliographic records for some items and both the record and the full-text of other items.
  • Meta-databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, SpringerLink, and etc.) – allow one to search for content that is indexed by other databases.

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804