Technology of WarJane's Publications
Industrial MobilizationFinancing War
BibliographiesChronologies/TimelinesDictionariesEncyclopediasGovernment ResourcesJournalsMaps And AtlasesResearch GuidesSelected Books and CollectionsStatistics and Data Sets
Levels of WarInstruments of Nat'l PowerLogisticsTotal WarStrategy
General Historical ResourcesAmerican War of WarWorld War IVietnam War
This is the "Intro" page of the "Technology and War Series" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Technology and War Series  

Resources for classes taught by Gen. Tom Pilsch.
Last Updated: Feb 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.gatech.edu/techandwar Print Guide RSS Updates

Intro Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evaluating Online Sites

Use the sites below to learn how to evaluate web sites and find only the best quality information.

 

Introduction

This research guide is a supplement to General Tom Pilsch's course pages for his series of coures on Technology & War .  it introduces the best databases to search for articles on topics for the courses, selected works available in the GT Library, and links to online resources.  The reference section directs you to sources such as bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps and atlases, statistical sources, and more.  For the assignment on mobilization for World War II, pay particular attention to the statistical sources.

To find books on the topics of the course, search first the GT Library catalog.  If you don't find enough there, try the GIL Universal Catalog, which has the holdings of all University System of Georgia libraries.  If you find something useful in another USG library, do a GIL Express request to have the item sent to this library.  The best source for finding what books have been published on a topic and what libraries nationwide have them is the WorldCat database.  If the item is not available in any USG library, you can request it through our ILLIAD interlibrary loan system.  Also use ILLIAD to request articles the GT Library does not have access to.  Use the databases listed below to identify articles and check to see if the Library has access to them online or in print.

Please feel free to contact Mary Axford with questions about doing research for the classes.

My Profile

Profile Image
Mary A. Axford
Contact Info
Office: 3rd floor East of the Library
404-894-1392
Send Email
 

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip