"A global collaborative project which provides access in bibliographic and in hypertext terms to networked scholarly documents, resources and information systems concerned with or relevant to Asian Studies." Not updated since 2010, but still many good links.
"CrossAsia - is an internet portal offering centralized access to printed and electronic resources concerning East Asian and South-East Asian studies. It has been created and is being supported and supervised by the East Asia Department of the Berlin State Library (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin) along with other German research instutitions.These include recommended websites, library catalogues an archive of egovernment sites (from Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, China, Taiwan) and aces to selected databases. The latter include journal indexing and abstracting services. Registration is required for some databases. All subject areas of the social science and humanities are covered." [description from Intute]
"EurasiaNet provides information and analysis about political, economic, environmental and social developments in the countries of Central Asia and the Caucasus, as well as in Russia, the Middle East, and Southwest Asia. The web site also offers additional features, including newsmaker interviews and book reviews."
"The Key Indicators for Asia and the Pacific 2011 (Key Indicators 2011), the 42nd edition of this series, is a statistical data book presenting economic, financial, social, and environmental indicators for the 48 regional members of the Asian Development Bank (ADB)."
China statistics from the Univ. of Michigan's China Data Center - categories include agriculture, transportation, education, and national accounts, and more. Part of the Proquest Statistical Datasets database. Scroll down to "Browse by Source", then open the menu for "China Data Center" or "China Data Center (National)".
1. Literature Database gives an overview of relevant
2. Experts Database connects experts and scholars by
providing contact information and expertise.
3. Books Database provides a platform of relevant
books and book chapters.
4. Websites Database offers a list of governmental agencies, and research institutions,
etc related to China’s economy.
5. Government Reports Database provides up-to-date information from government
bodies including many full-text articles.
6. Analysis Papers Database gives articles published from various universities and
7. Conferences Database is a forum to advertise upcoming conferences.
8. Call for Papers Database is related to the Conference Database in providing the
most up-to-date info on upcoming and current calls for papers.
9. Renminbi Database is designed to provide the latest news on events related to RMB
Additionally, we have constructed an OpenCourseWare (OCW) platform to gather syllabi and related course materials to further promote research and learning in the field of China's economy.
"China Vitae also tracks the appearances and travel of approximately 300 leading Chinese officials. Searchable information is available on date and location of activity, officials in attendance, topics raised, and source of the data. Another database records official announcements as they occur of new appointments to senior Party and government positions. Biographies of the new appointees appear as the information becomes available. "
"The China Internet Information Center offers broad access to up-to-date news about China, with searchable texts of government position papers and a wealth of basic information about Chinese history, politics, economics and culture. The authorized government portal site to China, www.china.org.cn is published under the auspices of the State Council Information Office and the China International Publishing Group in Beijing."
"In more than 2,000 pages of alphabetical
entries, each ranging from 500 to 5,000 words,
Encyclopedia of Modern China provides critical
information on the most populous country
and most dynamic trade market in the world.
The Encyclopedia explores the people, politics,
economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art and
literature of this ancient and enduring civilization
from the beginning of the 19th century to the
Annual report. "This report, submitted in response to the FY2000 National Defense Authorization Act, addresses (1) China’s grand strategy, security strategy, and military strategy; (2) developments in China’s military doctrine and force structure, to include developments in advanced technologies which would enhance China’s military capabilities; and, (3) the security situation in the Taiwan Strait."
Official site of the government of the People's Republic of China. Site is in English. Includes agency information, news, laws and regulations, survey programs, statistical standards, statistical indicators, and more.
"The U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission was created by the United States Congress in October 2000 with the legislative mandate to monitor, investigate, and submit to Congress an annual report on the national security implications of the bilateral trade and economic relationship between the United States and the People’s Republic of China, and to provide recommendations, where appropriate, to Congress for legislative and administrative action." Some useful publications.
From the Carnegie-Tsinghua Center for Global Policy. "This series consists of pieces written in China by Chinese scholars and experts. Window on China content does not constitute an endorsement of views by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace but rather is aimed at providing the international community better insight into and understanding of the debates taking place in China on important foreign policy issues."
"The Interim Reports deal with topics ranging from the bloody 1965 coup that unseated Sukarno and elevated General Suharto, to the Japanese Occupation, elections, decentralization, foreign policy, the role of the nation's armed forces, and the status of Chinese citizens in Indonesia. Original documents translated and published by CMIP include speeches from independence leaders such as Sukarno, Sjahrir, and Hatta, as well as significant studies authored by Indonesian intellectuals, economists, and politicians. CMIP Monographs tend to focus on contemporary Indonesian politics, but include anthropological and social analyses as well. The Bibliographies illuminate a range of works that were important to research on Indonesia in the middle of the century and after. Taken together, these publications offer a detailed and varied portrait of the gestation, birth, and development of an independent Southeast Asian nation in the twentieth century."
Developed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), this web site provides access to journal articles, conference proceedings, JST reports, and academic conference papers. Some items are in English.
Below are a series of links to various Korea-related websites for those interested in researching or studying particular aspects of Korea. The links are organised under the following headings:
* Academic Bodies, Foundations and Korean Studies Organisations
* Culture and Arts
* Government (South Korea)
* International Organisations
* Non-Government Organisations (NGOs)
* North Korea
* Research Institutes"
"The MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy was the first English-language encyclopedia to cover all major aspects of Japan's postwar economy. The second edition has been fully revised and expanded, and includes previously unpublished data as well as coverage of recent developments in the economy. The definitional entries concisely explain major economic concepts and include translations of Japanese economic terms and cross references to the longer topical essays. The 180 topical essays cover banks, financial systems, major industries, corporate groups, management practices, labor unions, international trade and investments, government economic policies, and more. They also include comprehensive statistics, American and Japanese views on economic relations between the two countries, and suggestions for further reading. A new index contains names of major companies."
* International Directory of South Asia Scholars
(via Columbia University)
* South Asia Resources by Country
Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, South Asia
Regional, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tibet
* South Asia Resources by Organization
o Conferences and Events
o International and Inter-Governmental Organizations
o Scholarly Associations, Academic Organizations, Centers
o NGOs, Societies and other organizations
o US Organizations
o Academic Jobs and Positions
"SavifaGuide offers access to carefully selected internet resources such as thematic and/or institutional websites. Thematically the collection covers the following subjects: History, Religion and Philosophy, Literature and Linguistics, Political Sciences and Anthropology with a geographical focus on South Asia (i.e. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Maldives, Tibet (till 1950) and Bhutan)."
Includes resources for Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar/Burma, Phillipines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and general SE Asia. Includes photos, videos, books, indexes, and manuscripts.
"In its 15 year history, REESWeb has sought to help users identify high quality web content that is located in or focuses on the region stretching from Bohemia to Central Asia. All web sites listed in REESWeb are vetted by the editors, categorized for easy searching, and annotated to provide users with a good idea of what they will find upon visiting a site."
"RT was the first Russian news channel to harness intercontinental potential and have its live broadcast show on America’s “most important screens” – NASDAQ and Reuters. Embracing technological advances, RT was the first Russian TV channel to hit the web with its own page on YouTube alongside its continuous online broadcast and blogs on services such as Facebook, MySpace and Blogger."
* The role of the Internet in Russian civic society and politics. * The changing media landscape and importance of online platforms in breaking news coverage. * Internet policy in Russia and its effect on bridging the digital divide and developing the freedom of speech practices. * Information security and cyber-warfare. * The landscape of Russian and Russian-language online communities."
"Russia Profile is an English-language information service and community platform consisting of a daily-updated Web site and a quarterly special report, geared toward a wide range of readers with a professional interest in Russia. Our goal is to offer the most comprehensive and concise view of business, economic, political and cultural trends and processes underway in Russia."