Skip to main content

Graduate Students: A Guide to Library Resources: Finding
Articles

Searching for Articles

Searching for articles on a specific topic? The Library provides access to almost 300 databases to help you find what you are looking for.  You can browse them alphabetically or by subject area.

Below is a list of a dozen or so of the most frequently used databases at Georgia Tech:

Web of Science

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Seamless integration with EndNote.

IEEE Xplore

IEEE Xplore is a powerful online resource for accessing scientific and technical publications produced by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and its publishing partners. IEEE Xplore provides access to a comprehensive collection of full-text PDF documents comprising the world's most highly cited journals in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. In addition to journals, conference publications, and technical standards content, IEEE Xplore provides access to books and educational resources.

SciFinder

SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. To use SciFinder WEB you must first register and create your own SciFinder username and password.

Compendex

Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.

Research Library

From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects.  It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers covering over 150 academic disciplines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database covering periodicals, journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. in areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

INSPEC

The Inspec database is an invaluable information resource for all scientists and engineers, that contains 13 million abstracts and specialized indexing to the world's quality research literature in the fields of physics and engineering.

ABI/INFORM Complete

The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

MathSciNet

MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940 and provides access to data from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) is an electronic archive of core scholarly journals, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of the entire backfiles of key journals. Over 246 academic journals cover the subject areas of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR coverage is defined by a 2 to 5 year "moving wall," which is the gap between the most recently published issue of a journal and the date the most recent issues are available in JSTOR. The Library subscribes to three JSTOR collections: Arts and Sciences I, Arts and Sciences II, and General Sciences.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic contains thousands of publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works (such as the Forbes Annual Directory, the Official Guide/American Marketplace and the US Global Trade Outlook).

PsycINFO

This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law

Scopus

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Locating Articles

If you know the name of the journal, newspaper, or magazine you are looking for, use the eJournal list to access materials we provide in electronic format.

Please pay attention to the coverage information – some journals are electronically available only for a certain period of time, and some journals are not available for the first 6 to 12 months after publication.

You can also use the Library catalog to search for journals (both print and ejournals) that are owned by the GT Library.

Graduate students can have electronic copies of print articles, conference papers, and technical reports owned by the Library delivered to them free of charge via the Library's LENDS service.  Items will typically arrive within 2-3 working days.

If the Library doesn't own the journal, newspaper, or magazine you are looking for, you can request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Improve Your Reading Experience for Scholarly Articles!

Browzine is an app for iPad or Android devices that makes reading scholarly articles much easier.  Add favorite journals to a bookshelf, get notifications via iin-app icon when new issues are available, and read PDFs in-app.