Skip to main content

Graduate Students: A Guide to Library Resources: Finding Standards,
Patents, and more

Standards

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards

ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world-a trusted source for technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services. Known for their high technical quality and market relevancy, ASTM International standards have an important role in the information infrastructure that guides design, manufacturing and trade in the global economy.
 

More information about standards can be found here.

If you can't find what you are looking for, your subject librarian will be happy to help.

Patents

The Georgia Tech Library is a Patent & Trademark Resource Center with a dedicated patent Librarian who can help make your search of the patent and trademark databases more efficient. (The Georgia Tech Library is not permitted to do any of the application procedures for you nor to give you legal advice.)

If you have any questions, or you want to make an appointment with a librarian for patent or trademark searches,
please call: (404) 385-7185, or email: lisha.li@library.gatech.edu

The following are two useful full-text patent databases:

United States Patent and Trademark Office

Google Patent Search [ basic search ] [ advanced search ]

 
More information about patents can be found here.

Technical Reports

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Database

Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.

SciTech Connect

Find documents, technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data.
"Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy."

Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)

Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL

 
More information about technical reports can be found here.

If you can't find what you are looking for, your subject librarian will be happy to help.

Conference Proceedings

Many conference proceedings can be found be searching the disciplinary and multidisciplinary databases listed in the "Finding Articles" tab of this guide. You should also find the following two databases useful:

ProceedingsFirst

The ProceedingsFirst database provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Each ProceedingsFirst record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference. Like its companion, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst provides access to The British Library Document Supply Centre's vast collection of conference proceedings.

DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI) Science Conference Proceedings Portal

This distributed portal provides access to science and technology conference proceedings and conference papers from a number of authoritative sites (e.g., professional societies and national labs) whose areas of interest in the physical sciences and technology intersect those of the Department of Energy.
 

More information about conference proceedings can be found here.

If you can't find what you are looking for, your subject librarian will be happy to help.