Skip to main content

INTA 3241a: Latin American Politics: Finding
Articles

Finding Articles in Library Databases

The following databases will allow you to find scholarly articles on Latin America.

Public Policy Databases

  • PAIS - Indexes journal articles, books, and government documents in international affairs, public policy, and political science, with coverage back to 1915.
  • CIAO - Full text database including the working papers of many think tanks/research institutes around the world.

Country Information

  • Viewswire - From Economist Intelligence Unit, ViewsWire pulls out relevant material from all of EIU's many publications and organizes it by country and region. For each country the information is arranged in three sections: Background, Briefings and Forecasts.
  • CIA World Factbook - The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
  • OECD iLibrary - Statistics and publications on many countires and on many topics.

Economics

  • Econlit - Indexes the scholarly literature in economics.
  • IMF eLibrary - IMF eLibrary Data provides access to authoritative, harmonized global statistical data from the International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, Government Finance Statistics and Coordinated Portfolio Investment Statistics.
  • NBER Working Papers - The NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers database includes bibliographic information for almost 7000 NBER working papers published since 1973.
  • ABI/Inform - indexes articles in business and management.
  • Business Source Complete - Scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

News Sources

  • LexisNexis Academic - full text of news articles from around the world, including Spanish and Portuguese-language sources.

Foreign-Language Sources

  • ClasePeriodica - ClasePeriodica (CLASE and PERIÓDICA) is an index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities compiled by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

Scholarly Articles in All Subject Areas

  • JSTOR - Full text of articles from core scholarly journals with articles since the 19th century, but does not have the most recent 3-5 years worth of articles.
  • Project Muse -  Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, mathematics and many others.
  • Web of Science - The world’s leading citation databases provide authoritative,multidisciplinary coverage from more than 12,000 high impact research journals worldwide.

Search Many Sources at Once (Everything)

Search for a broad range of print and online books, journal articles, reviews, and other materials available to GT students, faculty and staff from the GT Library collections; the Emory Library materials housed in the Library Service Center; and from a mega-aggregation of hundreds of millions of scholarly e-resources harvested from publishers and aggregators, and from open-access repositories.

Select Find Databases to locate other more specific databases by name or subject.
Not all resources are included, so you may need to search a specific database to complete your research.

(Note: Some of the resources indexed in the Everything search are items that are not available directly from the GT Library. These materials can be requested through Interlibrary Loan using the links provided.)

Librarian

Seth Porter
Contact:
seth.porter@library.gatech.edu
404-894-1392

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804