Skip to main content

Security Studies: Finding
Articles

A guide to resources in international security, military, defense, and intelligence studies. Subguide to the International Affairs subject guide.

Security Studies Databases

International Affairs Databases

  • PAIS database that indexes journal articles, books, and government documents in the subjects of public policy, political science, and international affairs
  • OECD iLibrary database of publications and statistics from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.  Very respected source of information.  Most documents are in PDF, Excel, or HTML format.
  • CIAO full-text database of working papers from think tanks around the world, which makes its content unique.

Security & Military

  • Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)full-text database that includes materials if they have any connection to homeland security and is published by a government agency.  Includes materials such as CRS Reports, which give deep background material on security topics, and theses from students at the military colleges.
  • Proquest Military Collection - This database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more.

Scholarly Content In All Subject Areas

  • JSTORincludes full text of articles from the most important scholarly journals back to their first issue.  Usually does not have the most recent 3-5 years of the journal.
  • Web of Science Core Collection indexes scholarly journals and conference proceedings in all subject areas (despite the name).  Great for finding out which articles have made reference to specific other articles.

Cited Reference Searching – Who’s Used Who as a Footnote

  • Web of Science Core Collection – indexes scholarly journals and conference proceedings in all subject areas (despite the name).  Great for finding out which articles have made reference to specific other articles.

Statistical Databases

  • Proquest Statistical Insightindexes and usually provides the full text of statistical publications.  Sources include the U.S. federal and state governments, nongovernmental organizations, commercial publishers, and international sources.
  • Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides billions of data points, which can be graphed, manipulated, computed, and more.
  • World Bank provides hundreds of data points for all countries.
  • UN Data portal for the most popular of the UN’s statistical databases.

Country Information

  • OECD iLibrary database of publications and statistics from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.  Very respected source of information.  Most documents are in PDF, Excel, or HTML format.

Librarian

Seth Porter's picture
Seth Porter
Contact:
seth.porter@library.gatech.edu
404-894-1392

 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804