Below are listed databases that help you find articles and statistics that support your research. To find books owned by the Library search the Library Catalog. Clicking on the links below will take you out of this guide.
Background on Policy Issues
- CQ Researcher - provides deep background information that gives and overview, concepts, and history of a policy topic.
Public Policy Database
- PAIS - indexes journal articles, books, and government documents in public policy.
- Econlit - index to the scholarly literature in economics
- Proquest Statistical Insight - indexes publications that include statistical information from the US federal and local governments, trade and industry associations, and a variety of international publications
- Data Planet Statistical Datasets - includes billions of data points on many topics, from many sources, that you can manipulate to get the data you need, and a variety of visualizations from graphs to bar charts to maps.
- American FactFinder - Census Bureau interface to its most requested demographic data.
- TRID - Transportation Research International Database. From the Transporation Research Board (TRB). "The TRID Database contains more than one million records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research."
Scholarly Articles in All Subject Areas
- Web of Science - despite the name, indexes articles and conference proceedings in all academic disciplines.
- Scopus - similar to Web of Science but does not index articles as far in the past.
- Government Information - in-depth guide from the GT library's government documents librarian.
- USA.gov - main portal to U.S. government (federal, state, and local) information. Search and browse to find information on topics and agencies.
- GPO Metalib - GPO MetaLib searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.