Find articles on general topics in the databases listed by using the search box below. Click the "i" button by a database name to see a description. Go to the "Finding Articles/Databases" page for a complete list of databases.
Public Policy Databases
- PAIS – database that indexes journal articles, books, and government documents in the subjects of public policy, political science, and international affairs
- OECD iLibrary – database of publications and statistics from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. Very respected source of information. Most documents are in PDF, Excel, or HTML format.
- CIAO – full-text database of working papers from think tanks around the world, which makes its content unique.
Background on Policy Issues
- CQ Researcher - Provides in-depth analysis of the most complex and controversial current events and social, political, economic, and international issues. Each report includes an issue summary, historical perspective, a chronology, bibliography, and a pro-con feature.
- Proquest Statistical Insight – indexes and usually provides the full text of statistical publications. Sources include the U.S. federal and state governments, nongovernmental organizations, commercial publishers, and international sources.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets – provides billions of data points, which can be graphed, manipulated, computed, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. - Statistical Abstract is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
- World Bank – provides hundreds of data points for all countries.
- UN Data – portal for the most popular of the UN’s statistical databases.
- GPO Metalib - MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
- Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications,1895-1976 - The Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications is a comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government. Note dates covered.
- GPO Monthly Catalog - GPO contains bibliographic citations to United States federal government publications from 1976 to the present. GPO contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps, and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, agriculture, medicine, public health, and more.
- GPO FDSYS - GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- Proquest Congressional - The world's most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information from Congressional Information Service, Inc.
- Georgia Government Publications - This digital archive contains scanned images of 19,000 public documents of departments or agencies within the executive branch of the Georgia state government. Types of materials included are annual reports, budget documents, periodicals, maps, posters, and videos.
- Georgia.gov - Online access to Georgia government, laws and regulations. Links to Georgia Code, administrative rules & regulations, state agencies, councils, and commissions and legislative information.
Cited Reference Searching (Who's Used Who as a footnote)
- Web of Science Core Collection – indexes scholarly journals and conference proceedings in all subject areas (despite the name). Great for finding out which articles have made reference to specific other articles