Skip to main content

Society Conference Papers: Home

Research Guide for Society Papers

Contact Information

Georgia Tech Library Research Guide for Society Papers

Subject Librarians for expert quick and in-depth reference and search assistance (with GT courses, etc.)

Acknowledgements

The co-authors of this Guide used significant material from a previous Georgia Tech Library Research Guide written by Mary-Frances Panettiere. 

Society Papers - Full Text and Indexes


American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

FULL TEXT:

  • ARC - Aerospace Research Central (formerly AIAA Electronic Library). The Aerospace Research Central contains technical information and documents online, including books, meeting papers, journals and standards.Access limited to GT users.
  • AIAA paper. AIAA microfiche collection (remote storage, Library Service Center). Call Number: TL501 .A688 A22X. (1963-1987 some issues missing; 1988-2003; 2005)
  • Check the Catalog for print and electronic AIAA publications.

INDEXES:

  • Aerospace Database (1962-present). Access limited to GT users.
  • International Aerospace Abstracts + Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR)
  • The Finding Guide to AIAA Meeting Papers (1981-1997) Call Number: TL501.A688 A222X. A few AIAA papers were not filmed and will not be in this microfiche collection.
  • Various other databases index selected papers.

American Institute of Chemical Engineers

FULL TEXT:

  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers. [Annual] Meeting. Papers [microfiche]. (1979-1999) Call Number: TP155.A35x, annual meetings [Microfiche].
  • National Meeting of AIChE. Papers [microfiche]. (1979-2000). Call Number: TP155.A36x, national meetings [Microfiche].
  • Check the Catalog for AIChE conference proceedings and journals.
The collection of selected papers is split between those papers presented at the "national" meetings (usually two or three per year) and the "annual" meetings (one per year). Papers that have been microfiched are held by the library. Unfortunately, the microfiche are not in order by paper number. It is therefore essential to go to the specific meeting's Program to learn the microfiche number for the paper in question.
 
INDEXES
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Annual meeting; program (1979-2000). Call Number: TP155.A353X.
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers. National meeting; program (1979-1992, 1994-2000). Call Number: TP155.A363X.
  • For papers not on microfiche, the paper may have been published elsewhere as a journal article or a conference paper or it may not have been published at all.
  • Many AIChE papers are published in the AIChe Symposium Series or in journals and conference proceedings. Search the Library Catalog for the Symposium Series, proceedings or journal titles.
  • Various other databases index selected papers.

American Institute of Physics

FULL TEXT AND INDEXES


American Society of Civil Engineers

FULL TEXT AND INDEXES:

  • Civil Engineering Database (ASCE) The Civil Engineering Database (ASCE) covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. Index
  • ASCE Library. Selected Proceedings papers from 1964 to present. Index
  • ASCE publications abstracts, Call Number: TA1 .A48X, Library has:  v. 1 - v. 17 (1966 - 1982).  Cumulative index to ASCE publications, Call Number:   Z5852 .A42X Reference Collection; Library has: 1930--1984.
  • Check the Catalog for print and electronic publications.
  • Various other databases index selected papers.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

FULL TEXT:

  • ASME Digital Library The ASME Digital Library provides full- text access to American Society of Mechanical Engineers journals published since 1970 and conference proceedings published since 2002. Access limited to GT users.
  • Several dozen series of ASME papers beginning in 1983 are bound in the stacks. The series should be searched in the Catalog. Two examples are ASME WA/AES (Winter Annual: Advanced Energy System Division) or ASME HT (Heat Transfer Division).
  • For ASME papers older than 1983, some were published in various proceedings and journals of ASME. To identify the proceedings and journals, use the indexes below.
INDEXES:
  • Various other databases index selected papers (such as PapersFirst 1993+). Check the Catalog for print and electronic ASME publications.
  • Index to place of publications of ASME papers 1950-1977. Call Number: Z5853 .M2 I52X 1981
  • ASME technical paper number list [1963-1987]. Call Number: Z5853 .M2 S33.
  • ASME Indexes to Publications (1968-1981). Three sections: ASME Miscellaneous Papers, Index to Mechanical Engineering, Index to Transactions of the ASME. Call Number: TJ1 .A7745.
  • Seventy-seven year index: technical papers, 1880-1956. Call Number: TJ1 .A774. Section One 1880-1939, Subject/Author Index. Section Two 1940-1956, Subject/Author Index
  • Subject & author cumulative index to transactions of the ASME, 1957-70. Call Number: TJ1 .A7741X.
  • Directory of ASME gas turbine technical papers [ASME International Gas Turbine Institute] 1956 to 1987, 1987-1991. Call Number: TJ778 .A75X 1987 ; TJ778 .A75 1980,

Association for Computing Machinery

FULL TEXT AND INDEXES:

  • ACM Digital Library provides access to citations and full-text content of conference proceedings, journals and newsletters published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Access limited to GT users.
  • Search the Catalog for individual ACM journals and proceedings.
  • Various other databases index selected papers.

Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers and the Institution of Engineering and Technology/Institution of Electrical Engineers

FULL TEXT AND INDEXES:

  • IEEE Xplore. The Georgia Tech Library's subscription to the IEEE Xplore database provides full-text access to IET/IEE and IEEE (the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 (and selected pre-1988 papers). The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) was formed by the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE) and the Institution of Incorporated Engineers (IIE) on 31 March 2006. The IET produces the Inspec database. Full text access limited to GT users.
  • Search the Catalog for individual IEEE, IEE, and IET journals and proceedings.
  • Various other databases index selected papers, such as Inspec and Compendex.

Materials Research Society

FULL TEXT AND INDEXES:

  • MRS Online Proceedings Library (Materials Research Society) contains peer-reviewed papers presented at MRS Meetings since the 2000 Spring meeting. Papers are also available for a portion of the 1998 and 1999 Fall Meetings and two Scientific Basis of Nuclear Waste Management titles. Titles designated with an "E"; after the volume number are ONLY available online. Materials Research Society symposia proceedings. Access limited to GT users.
  • Various other databases index selected papers.
  • Check the Catalog for print and electronic publications.

Optical Society of America

FULL TEXT AND INDEXES:

  • Selected journals and co-sponsored proceedings are full text.  Access limited to GT users.
  • Search the Catalog for individual electronic and print OSA journals and proceedings.
  • Various other databases index selected papers

Society of Automotive Engineers

FULL TEXT:

  • Society of Automotive Engineers. SAE International Digital Library  SAE journal articles and technical papers 1998 to present. GT Library subscription
  • SAE technical paper [microfiche]. (1969- 2004) Some issues missing. Call Number: TL1 .S55X and TL1.S58x. The collection is in order by paper number. Use indexes given below to identify paper numbers and publications.
  • SAE papers can be published in SAE Special Publications, in SAE proceedings, in the SAE Transactions, and in various SAE journals. GT Library owns selected publications in print format.
  • Search the Catalog for SAE publications.

INDEXES:

  • SAE papers database. GT Library subscription
  • Various other databases index selected SAE papers, such as Compendex and PapersFirst
  • Annual Index/Abstracts of SAE Technical Papers (1984-2007)   Call Number: TL1.S62X. SAE Transactions TL1.S6 1927-2007.
  • SAE Technical Literature Abstracts (1975-1998). Call Number: TL1.S67x
  • Cumulative Index of SAE Technical Papers  (1906-1964 and 1965-1993) Call Number: Z5170.S612x

Society of Manufacturing Engineers

FULL TEXT:

  • SME engineering technical paper [microfiche].(1970-2001). Call Number: TS176.S65x [Microfiche]. This collection is in order first by year, then by two letter code then by number, so if you know that, you can go straight to the microfiche. If not, one of the following indexes may help identify paper numbers.
  • Search the Library Catalog for SME publications.

INDEXES:

  • Various other databases index selected papers.
  • SME Technical Digest (1969-1999). Call Number: TS176.S67x. This index includes SME papers along with journals, books and proceedings.

Society of Petroleum Engineers

FULL TEXT:

  • Society of Petroleum Engineers. Technical papers [Microfiche] (1980-1994). Call Number: Z6972.U685 [Microfiche and print index]
  • Search the Catalog for SPE publications.

INDEXES:

  • Various other databases index selected papers.
  • Society of Petroleum Engineers Technical Papers: Index to the Microfiche Collection (1955-1994). Call Number: Z6972.U685

SPIE, International Society for Optical Engineering

FULL TEXT:

  • SPIE Digital Library. includes access to technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 (Full coverage from 1998 to the present). Access limited to GT users.
  • The Library owns most SPIE proceedings before 1998.  Search the Library Catalog by the individual conference proceedings title and/or by the volume number.
  • Earlier name was Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE).

INDEXES:


Databases indexing selected conference papers:

  • Aerospace Database (1962-present).ProQuest. Aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings (AIAA, SAE, etc.) and technical reports. International Aerospace Abstracts + Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR).  Search multiple CSA files together. Subscription database.
  • Agricola indexes selected agricultural publications. Published by the U.S. Dept of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library
  • BIOSIS Citation Index (Thomson Scientific / ISI) (1926-present). Life sciences. Includes journals and meeting abstracts. BIOSOS Previews can be combined with Medline and Web of Science using the Web of Knowledge "All Databases" tab. Subscription database.
  • Chemical Abstracts - SciFinder (1907-present). Chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering journals, patents, and conference proceedings. Subscription database.
  • Compendex (1884-present). Indexes major international engineering journals and conference proceedings. Combine with Inspec searches (approximate 20% overlap). Subscription database.
  • DTIC - Public Technical Reports. Defense Technical Information Center Dept of Defense. Provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Public Technical Reports database, as well as selected electronic full-text documents.
  • Energy -- SciTech Connect.. The contents of Energy Citations Database (DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present) and OSTI's DOE Information Bridge (full-text document coverage primarily from 1991 forward) is consolidated into SciTech Connect (Department of Energy).
  • ERIC.  Indexes education journals and selected reports, conferences and other publications.  Links to some full text.  ERIC is also available via Ebscohost, FirstSearch and ProQuest ("Change Databases" top row, right corner) databases.
  • GeoRef (1785-present). ProQuest. Geoscience journal articles, conference papers, books, maps, reports and theses. Search multiple ProQuest files together. Subscription database.
  • Inspec (1896-present). Indexes international journals and conference proceedings in the areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, manufacturing and production engineering, and information technology.  Combine Inspec and Compendex together into one search (approximte 20% overlap). Subscription database.
  • Materials Research Database (1966-present). ProQuest.  Covers materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites. Sources include journals and conference proceedings. Search multiple ProQuest files together. Subscription database.
  • NTIS - National Technical Information Service (1964-present). ProQuest. Unclassified government-sponsored technical research reports from the DoD, DOE, NASA, and other federal agencies. Includes some conference proceedings. The Georgia Tech Library owns a very large collection of technical reports, in microfiche or electronic.  Use the NTIS technical report number for the entire conference proceedings, not for the individual conference papers. Search multiple ProQuest files together. Subscription database. For full text microfiche and electronic technical reports, see the GT Library's Technical Reports LibGuide at http://libguides.gatech.edu/content.php?pid=87996&sid=654700
  • NTRS: NASA Technical Report Server  1917- Provides access to NASA aerospace information and domestic and international STI (scientific and technical information) pertinent to NASA's missions. Contains some full-text coverage.
  • PaperChem (1967-present). Indexes pulp and paper technology journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Combine with Inspec and Compendex. Subscription database.
  • PapersFirst (1993-present) Citations for papers presented at conferences worldwide, from the vast collection of proceedings owned by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Detailed conference information (AIAA, AICHE, ASME, IEEE/IET/IEE, SAE, SME, SPE, SPIE, etc.). Subscription database.
  • PsycINFO (1872-present). Psychology journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and conference papers. Subscription database.
  • TRID: TRIS and ITRD databases. Transportation Research Board. Indexes books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research.
  • Web of Science. Includes Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S) --1990-present and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH) --1990-present. Subscription database.

Subject Librarians for expert quick and in-depth reference and library research assistance.

A librarian is available for drop-in library research assistance at the Expert Consultation Center located on the 1st floor west of the Library nearby the entrance to the Clough building; hours are Monday through Friday noon to 4:00pm (when classes are held, fall and spring semester). For very brief, quick help -- Need Help?.

All Research Guides

All Databases


 Map of Library Location GT Library :: 266 4th Street NW :: Atlanta, GA 30332-0900 :: phone: (404) 894-4500 or 1-888-225-7804