Skip to Main Content

EndNote: EndNote at Georgia Tech

Getting started with EndNote for Georgia Tech users

Getting Started with EndNote at Georgia Tech

Georgia Tech affiliates can download EndNote desktop software for free

  1. Go to the OIT Software site: http://software.oit.gatech.edu/ (VPN required off campus)
  2. Click the Download Software link
  3. Select your Affiliation (faculty, student, staff, etc.)
  4. Page will appear with all available software, including EndNote (you can also search for EndNote)
  5. Select Request Software (right hand side) 

The Georgia Tech Library offers drop-in training on EndNote multiple times per semester. Search upcoming classes at https://library.gatech.edu/events

General Safety Notes

  • EndNote libraries are made up of two parts: the .enl file and the .Data folder. These two parts must be kept together; both are needed for the library to work correctly.

  • Keep EndNote libraries on your computer's local hard drive. Storing and editing libraries on a network drive can lead to corruption and performance issues.

  • EndNote libraries should never be stored in cloud-syncing folders such as Dropbox, OneDrive, Box, etc. Syncing folders corrupt EndNote libraries over time.

  • Do not store EndNote libraries in iCloud or any other cloud-syncing folder, and do not store EndNote libraries in the Documents folder if you have selected the option to synchronize documents in iCloud.

  • Mac users: see how to use Pro apps [and EndNote] with optimized storage

  • Uninstall your previous version of EndNote before installing a new version.

  • Synchronize references in EndNote libraries between desktop and laptop computers, the online library, and an iPhone or iPad using EndNote Sync.

  • Share complete EndNote libraries with other EndNote desktop users through EndNote Sync and Library Sharing.

  • You can back up your library for sharing or moving to another computer using the File > Compressed Library command.

EndNote step-by-step

Add references

Endnote allows manual data entry, but for most references you can take advantage of direct export from online databases – downloading references in the RIS format works best. EndNote’s Find duplicates command will clean up duplicate references you might download from different sources

Find reference updates

EndNote searches for and retrieves available updates for selected references, including updated journal names, DOI, keywords, abstracts and other metadata. 

Find full text

Retrieve publicly available full text articles in PDF format. EndNote also recognizes your subscriptions to paid full text articles available via PubMed LinkOut, OpenURL and EZProxy. Use VPN for maximum full text results when off campus.

Organize references

Groups make it easy to break a large library into subsets for later viewing. A group simply points to a subset of references that already exist in the library. EndNote provides three types of groups:
Custom Groups – manually move references into one or more groups that you name and organize
Smart Groups – automatically move references into a group based on search parameters
Combined Groups – create groups that combine references from two or more other groups

Cite While You Write

Insert Citation using a search window in Word, or by searching in EndNote.
Change Styles in EndNote and Word with a simple drop-down menu. Access over 7000 citation styles at endnote.com.
Edit and Manage Citation(s) to customize in-text citations in a document.
Configure Bibliography to customize reference lists created in Word for a selected style.

Sync references online, share references with others

Choose Library > Sync and set up an account at endnote.com if you don’t already have one. You can sync the data from one EndNote library with EndNote online.
Share your entire EndNote library (File > Share), or share one or more groups (Groups > Share Group), with up to 100 other EndNote users.

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I use one library file for all my references, or separate libraries for different projects?

It may be easiest to use one library for everything and set up a separate group of references for each project, but it's entirely up to you.  EndNote works fine with multiple library files.

However, while you can create as many EndNote libraries as you want, you can only sync and share one of them.

I already have a long bibliography that I typed in Word. Can I convert it to an EndNote library?

Unfortunately there's no way to do this automatically. The best way is to search for your references online (if possible) and download them into EndNote.

How do I download search results from my favorite database into EndNote?

Every database works a little differently. In general, the procedure is:

  1. Search the database as usual.
  2. Choose the references you want to save.
  3. Use the database's Save or Export function (may also be called Download, Cite, etc.). There's often a choice to export to EndNote, or save references in a file format that EndNote can read or import, such as RIS.

I tried using EndNote's Online Search feature to search a database, but it asks for a password.

Online Search works best with library catalogs or free databases like Pubmed.  Most databases work best by exporting from your browser rather than using EndNote's Online Search function.

Find more help online

Find more EndNote details, online training and support at https://endnote.com/

Clarivate's research guide for EndNote is at https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home