Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please ask us for assistance!
Contact your Subject Librarian for expert quick and in-depth reference and search assistance (with GT courses, GT dissertation/theses/project research, etc.).
Selected Full Text Availability of Technical Reports
Internet Sources: selected technical reports are freely available on the Internet, many from the issuing agencies such as DOE, DoD (DTIC), EPA, and NASA
- Georgia Tech users should use the subscription NTIS database (Engineering Village) to search for technical reports. A large number of NTIS records link to full text PDFs (included with our subscription).
- U.S. Department of Energy's DOE research results database consolidates the contents of OSTI's DOE Information Bridge (full-text document coverage primarily from 1991 forward) and Energy Citations Database (DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present). Contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
- DTIC Public Technical Reports (Department of Defense). Search box - top of screen "Search this site, DoD S&T Reports, and more." Provides access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports database, as well as the electronic full-text of selected documents. The database has over 850,000 public release records
- NTRL. The Department of Commerce National Technical Information Service (NTIS) free searchable technical reports database; selected electronic reports are full text. Georgia Tech Library's subscription NTIS database links to a large number of full text NTRL PDFs.
- NTRS NACA and NASA Technical Reports Server. National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Coverage: 1917- NACA (National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics) is the predecessor organization to NASA. Server includes some full text NASA reports. NACA reports are 1917-1958. A full text UK archive of digitised NACA Reports is maintained by the AERADE team of Cranfield University.
- TRAIL - Technical Report Archive & Image Library (selected reports). Search selected U.S. government technical reports, issued primarily prior to 1975 and digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups.
- HathiTrust includes selected government documents. Click on "Full View only". Digitized by Google. Catalog search is available.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) 1966- Selected full text technical reports.
- National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) Coverage: 1997- Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA)
- CRS Reports. Access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress
- RAND Corporation. More than 26,000 RAND publications, most of which are available as free eBook downloads, dating back to 1946
- Transportation Research Information Service (TRID - the TRIS and ITRD Database Online) Selected reports
- National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) Selected reports
- U.S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library (NAL) Online Catalog - Agricola. Search for Books. Selected reports
- USGS Library Catalog. Selected reports. U.S. Geological Survey. Advanced Search. Publications Warehouse.
- Science.gov (selected reports) U.S. government science information. Selected reports
- WorldCat OCLC (library catalog records) Selected reports. Worldwide library catalog records. Free version: https://www.worldcat.org/
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Selected reports
- Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications,1895-1976. Subscription. Selected reports
- govinfo or MetLib GPO or USA.gov (selected reports)
- Government databases (free and subscription)
- Internet Archive
The Georgia Tech Library holds over 2,000,000 microfiche technical reports (located in remote storage). The period from 1960 to 2007 is the most heavily represented, although older reports dating from 1900 are available. Georgia Tech students and faculty/staff can request copies of reports by filling out an ILLiad request form.
NTIS - National Technical Information Service
Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
A large number of NTIS records link to full text PDFs
(included with our NTIS subscription).
Quick Engineering Village Search Hints
- Sort by Date (Newest) or Relevance
- Truncation. Asterisk (*) to search for words that begin with the same letters, such as simulat*. Asterisk (*) to search any number of characters internally, such as catalog*e.
- Wildcard (?) to replace a single characters, such as wom?n
- Quotation marks ("xxxx") for exact phrases. Enclose stop words in brackets or quotation marks "near infrared"
- Use search history to combine previous search statements, using Boolean operators.Top row "Results" - "View all results" - "Search history"
- Use nested (with parenthesis) Boolean operators to combine terms
- OR -- To broaden a search; allow for variant spellings; results include any specified term
- #1 OR #2 OR #3 [retrieve records from any of the three search statements, using Search History]
- simulat* OR model* OR mathemat* OR algorithm* [every record contains at least one of these four terms]
- AND -- To narrow the scope of a search; results contain all specified terms
- radar AND countermeasure* [both terms must be contained in every record]
- NOT -- To eliminate terms from a search
- To narrow a search (too many records)
- Proximity operators: near/# (within # words, in any order)
- Field qualifier: limit to a field, such as Title, Author, Controlled (subject) term, Subject/Title/Abstract field
- Search history (Results - View all results) to combine previous search statements, e.g., (#1 OR #2) AND (#3 OR model*)
- Change "Display" -- "results per page" to 100
- Can use Browse Indexes to search Author names. Watch for all variations; with and without the comma; with and without space between initials; full first name or only initials
- Advanced Options. Top row: Date, Language, Document Type, Sort by, Browse indexes, Autostemming (turn ON)
- Document Type (limit to Journal articles - for quick, not comprehensive searches, etc.)
- Language (English, etc.)
- Leave "Autostemming ON" to automatically stem terms
- By date
- Register (free) to Save search queries, records, or set up automatic Alerts. One search statement line is saved.
- Selected Records -- Email, Print, Download. Choose either Abstract or Detailed record. Can download to EndNote, text, RTF, etc
- Engineering Village's new search engine: Summary of changes
Other GT Databases and Guides
Elsevier's Engineering Village Search Tips