Skip to Main Content

Finding Trade Journals, for ECE students: Home

ProQuest Databases. Limit to Trade Journals

ProQuest platform. Limit to trade journals

Conduct a search, limiting to trade journals

  •  "Advanced Search" (top row)
  • "Source type" (left column)
  •  Check box for "Trade Journals" (left column)
  • "Search"

OR

After a search has been conducted.

  • "Source type" (left column)
  • Click on "More"
  • Check "Include" box for "Trade Journals"
  • Click on "Apply"

"Find It @ GT" works properly for most journal articles

ProQuest databases

  • The selected database(s) must have the "Source Type" -- "Trade Journals"
  • Search one ProQuest platform database, or search multiple ProQuest databases at simultaneously: "Change databases" (top row), such as ProQuest Central (a variety of topics), ABI/INFORM Collection (business, management, company information), Materials Science & Engineering Collection, Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection, Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection, and many more databases. Check left column boxes for relevant databases. Then click on "Use selected databases"
  • ProQuest LibGuides: https://proquest.libguides.com (search tips, searchable fields, ProQuest results, document view, sample searches, etc.)

Quick ProQuest Platform Search Hints

  • Sort by Date (Most recent first) or Relevance
  • Truncation character (*) asterisk - retrieves variations of the search term. Use the truncation character at the end (right-hand truncation, such as simulat*) or in the middle of search terms. Each truncated word can return up to 500 word variations.
  • Standard truncation (*) retrieves variations on the search term, replacing up to 5 characters.
  • Wildcard character (?) used to replace any single character, either inside or at the right end of a word.
  • Quotation marks ("signal processing") for exact phrases. Enclose stop words in brackets or quotation marks "near infrared"
  • Use "Recent Searches" to combine previous search statements, using Boolean operators.
    • Combine previous search statements. Examples: (1 AND 3) OR (1 AND 2)
                  3 AND detect*
                       (1 OR 2) AND (3 OR model*)
  • Use nested (with parenthesis) Boolean operators to combine terms
    • OR -- To broaden a search; allow for variant spellings; results include any specified term
      • simulat* OR model* OR mathemat* OR algorithm* [every record contains at least one of these four terms]
    • AND -- To narrow the scope of a search; results contain all specified terms
      • radar AND countermeasure* [both terms must be contained in every record]  
    • NOT -- To eliminate terms (or search statements) from a search
  • Proximity operators
    • near/# (within # words, in any order)
    • pre/# (within # words, in this exact order)
  • Field qualifiers: limit to a specific field, such as author -- AU(Smith), or to multiple fields at one time, such as TI,SU,AB(robot* and wireless*) for restricting keywords to title, subject and abstract fields. Can limit to fields using Advanced Search drop down menus.
  • "Anywhere except full text" (drop down menu) or use NOFT as a field code, such as NOFT(laser pre/3 diode). NOFT - does not search the full text field.
  • Change "Display" -- "results per page" to 100
  • Register (free) to Save search queries, records, or set up automatic Alerts. One search statement line is saved.
  • Multiple ProQuest databases can be searched simultaneously.  Top row "Change databases" ; check the boxes of relevant databases; "Use selected databases"
  • Email, Print, Download marked records. Can download to EndNote, text, RTF, etc.

Applied Science and Technology. EBSCO. Limit to "Trade Publications"

Go to EBSCO's Applied Science & Technology Abstracts database 1983+.

Limit to Trade Publications

Conduct a search, limiting to trade publications

  • Advanced Search
  • "Limit Your Results"
  • "Content Type" - "Trade"
  • "Search"

OR

After a search has been conducted. 

  • "Search Results"
  • "Limit Your Results" (left column)
       "Expand Content Types" - "Trade"
  • "Filter"

Note: "Find It @ GT" works properly for most journal articles

Ulrichsweb Directory. Limit to Trade Content Type

  • Ulrichsweb.com is the electronic version of Ulrich's International Periodical Directory. It provides a quick search for nearly 300,000 serials from over 200 countries by title, subject, keyword and ISSN number.
  • For remote access, recommend use VPN.

Ulrichsweb directory database. Limit to trade journals

Conduct a search, limiting to trade journals

  • "Advanced Search"
  • "Limit Your Results"
  • "Content Type" -- "Trade"
  • Click on "Search"

OR

After a search has been conducted

  • "Narrow Results" (left column)
  • "Content Types" -- "Trade"
  • Click on "Filter"

Help:

EBSCO Platform Quick Search Hints

Search Options

EBSCOhost (Applied Science & Technology – indexes core journals)

Proximity operator, within # words, in any order

N#

Example: (wireless OR radio ) N5 (detector* OR sensors)

Proximity operator, within # words, in the exact order entered

W#

Example: light W1 modulators

Exact phrase – quotes

Truncation character retrieves variations of the search term. Use at the end of term’s root, for right-hand truncation

Asterisk (*)

Example: comput* to find the words computer or computing

Search terms in specific fields

Advanced search drop down field menu, or use upper case field codes

Combine previous search statements

"Search history"

Search with AND; Search with OR.

Actions: Saved searches, Alerts

Search multiple databases at the same time

"Choose Databases" and check relevant boxes

What is a trade journal?

  • EBSCO's definition. Academic Journals vs.Trade Publications vs. Magazines. 

    Trade Publications:  Color photos, glossy or matte paper. Advertisements - pertaining to the journal's targeted industry. Purpose - to inform or educate professionals in the industry covered by the journal. May be monthly or quarterly. Professional style writing. Authors are industry professionals. Articles to benefit professionals in the targeted industry (engineers etc.). Content reviewed by an industry editor.

  • ProQuest - definition of trade journal. "A periodic publication dedicated to distributing news and information of interest to a specific target industry or business. Trade journals are often published by a trade association."

Additional information

  • ECE students and faculty/staff: contact Bette Finn at bette.finn@library.gatech.edu for quick and in-depth one-on-one assistance searching the Library's databases and for group instruction
  • All Databases
  • All Research Guides

  • Trade journals - good way for professionals to obtain current/relevant news in their industry