The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Full image archive of Aviation Week from 1916-present.
To use you must first create an account on awin.aviationweek.com from a campus IP or from the VPN. You can then login with that account on this link.
Use VPN. Unlimited access to the world’s leading sector specific newsletters. These real-time, daily and weekly publications are included with no embargo:
· Aviation Daily
· Aerospace Daily & Defense Report
· The Weekly of Business Aviation
Access to the digital, searchable archive that contains every issue of Aviation Week & Space Technology first 100 years. Both the industry and Aviation Week & Space Technology turned 100 together and this comprehensive archive of 4,500 issues and 500,000 pages of articles and advertisements chronicle the century.
· Numerous databases, including organizations, personnel, programs, and fleet
· Current articles, charts, graphs, and analysis, plus full archives going back to 1997
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from 1704 to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in African American History. Updated daily.
Realizing the integrated retrieval of Chinese and foreign periodicals. Among them, there are more than 8520 kinds of Chinese academic journals, which includes more than 1970 kinds of core journals of Peking University and more than 2150 first published online journals dating back to 1915 and totaling more than 57million full-text articles. Academic journals in foreign languages include more than 75,000 kinds of journals from more than 900 publishing houses in nearly 80 countries and regions, covering 96% of JCR journals and 90% of Scopus journals and dating back to the 19th century and containing more than 58million titles in foreign languages, which can link to full text.
The Georgia Tech Library licenses Series F Literature/History/Philosophy and Series G Politics/Military Affairs/Law
Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
May require creation of an account to save work and run analysis. Allows you to explore Georgia Tech Library's holdings from Gale Primary Sources using Digital Humanities tools. Rediscover and interpret the past through analysis and visualization of historical texts.
Use VPN EOLSS is a collection of 21 encyclopedias dedicated to the health, maintenance and future of the web of life on planet Earth, focusing on the complex connections among all the myriad aspects from natural and social sciences through water, energy, land, food, agriculture, environment, biodiversity, health, education, culture, engineering and technology, management, development and environmental security carrying knowledge for our times.
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Includes: World Musical Instruments: Case Studies has been sourced from UCLA's World Musical Instruments collection which features a curated selection of musical instruments from 10 different areas across the world. This allows you to see the musical instruments, read about them and hear them be performed by master musicians. Each case study features musical instruments that can be found within the primary source recordings.
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Access from VPN or a campus computer.
The library subscribes to the following modules from Jane's:
--All the World's Aircraft: Development & Production
--All the World's Aircraft: In Service
--All the World's Aircraft: Unmanned
--C4ISR & Mission Systems: Air
--Defence Equipment & Technology Intelligence Centre
-- Defence: Air & Space Module
--International Defence Review
--Space Systems & Industry
Discover a wide range of journals, ebooks, and more than 5,400 Open Access research reports in the field of sustainability. The subjects of resilience and sustainability are explored broadly, covering research on environmental stresses and their impact on society.
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Also, features over 100 hours of audio recordings, bringing the work of the Race Relations Department to life. Listen to eminent sociologists, civil rights activists, anthropologists, industry leaders and others participating in panel discussions and delivering speeches at the annual Race Relations Institutes. Also available are dictations of reports and the narration of the film slideshows 'Of a New Day Begun' and 'Rebirth in Roxbury'. Where possible, interactive and searchable transcriptions accompany the audio.
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts. Please note this resource contains sexually explicit material.
Library owns Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity
Module 3 Culture and Society: This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.