The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام, “The Pyramids”) is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication and was renowned for its objectivity and independence. After being nationalized by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government and today the newspaper is managed by the Supreme Council of Press.
A complete digital version of the Architectural Digest backfile, 1922-2011. A vibrant monthly celebration of international design talents, the Architectural Digest Magazine Archive provides students of art, design and architecture with an essential research tool.
Use VPN. Unlimited access to the world’s leading sector specific newsletters. These real-time, daily and weekly publications are included with no embargo:
· Aviation Daily
· Aerospace Daily & Defense Report
· The Weekly of Business Aviation
Access to the digital, searchable archive that contains every issue of Aviation Week & Space Technology first 100 years. Both the industry and Aviation Week & Space Technology turned 100 together and this comprehensive archive of 4,500 issues and 500,000 pages of articles and advertisements chronicle the century.
· Numerous databases, including organizations, personnel, programs, and fleet
· Current articles, charts, graphs, and analysis, plus full archives going back to 1997
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from 1704 to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in African American History. Updated daily.
Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
May require creation of an account to save work and run analysis. Allows you to explore Georgia Tech Library's holdings from Gale Primary Sources using Digital Humanities tools. Rediscover and interpret the past through analysis and visualization of historical texts.
Use VPN EOLSS is a collection of 21 encyclopedias dedicated to the health, maintenance and future of the web of life on planet Earth, focusing on the complex connections among all the myriad aspects from natural and social sciences through water, energy, land, food, agriculture, environment, biodiversity, health, education, culture, engineering and technology, management, development and environmental security carrying knowledge for our times.
Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Includes: World Musical Instruments: Case Studies has been sourced from UCLA's World Musical Instruments collection which features a curated selection of musical instruments from 10 different areas across the world. This allows you to see the musical instruments, read about them and hear them be performed by master musicians. Each case study features musical instruments that can be found within the primary source recordings.
The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Accordingly, it provides a wealth of information from all countries outside of the U.S.—from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Containing over a million citations, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 is an archive index covering important humanities and social sciences journals published from 1907 to 1984.
International Index: 18 volumes: 1907 - March 1965
Social Sciences & Humanities Index: 9 volumes: April 1965 – March 1974
Humanities Index: 10 volumes: April 1974 – March 1984
Social Sciences Index: 9 volumes: April 1974 – March 1983
JPRS—acting as a unit within the Central Intelligence Agency—was established in March 1957 as part of the United States Department of Commerce’s Office of Technical Services, about six months before the Soviet Union launched Sputnik 1. JPRS staffers prepared translations, for use by U.S. government officials, various agencies, and the research and industrial communities, balancing political coverage with scientific and technical topics. Over time, however, that scope expanded to cover environmental concerns, world health issues, nuclear proliferation, and more.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I
The first volume of Music Online: Classical Scores Library includes more than 400,000 pages of the most important classical music scores and manuscripts ever written. Students, faculty, and scholars will find countless works from classical music’s most studied composers, including Bach, Schubert, Mozart, Handel, Beethoven, Liszt, Brahms, Chopin, plus thousands more.
Additional material in Volume I includes 100 scores from the Barry S. Brook Center’s collection of French Opera in the 17th and 18th centuries, providing access to the music and libretti of the early operas during an important period in the development of the genre.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume II
Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume II provides online access to 200,000 pages of scores. In addition to new works from contemporary composers, Volume II includes a range of important composers not represented in the first volume and alternative editions of many of music’s most studied compositions.
Featured composers include Claude Debussy, Gabriel Fauré, Maurice Ravel, Andrew Schultz, Moya Henderson, Nicholas Vines, Giovanni Sammartini, Michael Haydn, and many others. This volume also includesThe Symphony 1720-1840-- the largest source of 18th century symphonies comprising 550 symphonic works.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume III
The third volume of Alexander Street’s Music Online: Classical Scores Library brings together 400,000 pages of in-copyright editions from composers worldwide. The collection provides editions from major publishers like Chester Music, Novello & Company, Faber Music, Wilhelm Hansen, Donemus, and others. It provides expanded coverage of great choral works and instrumental scores for brass, woodwind, and other instrument groups.
Volume III features modern editions of works by Bach, Beethoven, Berlioz, Brahms, Byrd, Gibbons, Handel, Haydn, Mendelssohn, Monteverdi, Mozart, and Purcell, as well as classic works by Elgar, De Falla, Franck, Holst, Joubert, Maxwell-Davies, Musgrave, Saariaho, Sallinen, Stravinsky, Tchaikovsky, and many more.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume IV
This comprehensive collection of scores places particular focus on canonical contemporary composers from the 20th and 21st centuries, and will provide 300,000 pages of scores upon completion. With many scores newly digitized for the academic market, or licensed directly from the composers themselves, music scholars and faculty will find Music Online: Classical Scores Library: Volume IV to be a reliable source for authoritative scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery and dissemination of lesser-known contemporary works.
The Nation Archive makes it possible for researchers to access 14 decades of America's best alternative journalism in ways never before possible. The archive contains thousands of historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles Coverage Dates: July 6, 1865 to June 2020.
Use VPN From the austerity of the 1950s to the excess of the 1970s, discover the period through a wealth of printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video clips.
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Also, features over 100 hours of audio recordings, bringing the work of the Race Relations Department to life. Listen to eminent sociologists, civil rights activists, anthropologists, industry leaders and others participating in panel discussions and delivering speeches at the annual Race Relations Institutes. Also available are dictations of reports and the narration of the film slideshows 'Of a New Day Begun' and 'Rebirth in Roxbury'. Where possible, interactive and searchable transcriptions accompany the audio.
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts. Please note this resource contains sexually explicit material.
Library owns Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity
Module 3 Culture and Society: This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Login using OpenAthens to access Taylor & Francis’ Sustainable Development Goals Online collection is a carefully curated interdisciplinary collection of digital content mapped to the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The SDG Online collection includes more than 12,000 of the most important and relevant book chapters and journal articles, published under the Routledge and CRC Press imprints, in an online library covering all 17 SDGs.
The collection also features new multi-format teaching and learning resources, including core essays, presentations, videos, case studies, teaching guides, and lesson plans.
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Better Homes and Gardens: 1922-2005
Good Housekeeping: 1885-2005
Ladies' Home Journal: 1885-2005
Town & Country: 1846-1851;1854-1856;1900-2005
Women's International Network News: 1975-2003
Woman's Day: 1937-2005
Fairs were arenas where manufacturers sought to promote products, where states and provinces competed for new residents and new investments, where urban spaces were organized into utopian cities, and where people from all social classes went to be alternately amused, instructed, and diverted. Memorialized in songs, books, buildings, public statuary, city parks, urban designs, and photographs, fairs were intended to frame the world view not only of the hundreds of millions who attended these spectacles, but also of the countless millions who encountered the fairs secondhand.
The range of materials in this collection is broad in scope, from glossy and expensive limited-edition folios of artwork displayed at fairs, to manuscript letters, penny guides, exhibit brochures, congress proceedings, and issues of journals devoted to coverage of a fair. Document types also include photographs; postcards; sheet music; philatelic material; stationery and greeting cards; menus and food service items; posters; and other printed items.
Use VPNExplore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for research opportunities in this diverse topic.