To access: while logged into the VPN or from a campus IP, create an account here Register
BioCyc is a collection of 19534 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) for model eukaryotes and for thousands of microbes, plus software tools for exploring them. BioCyc is an encyclopedic reference that contains curated data from 130,000 publications.
From Alvar Aalto to virtual reality design, and from authoritative reference information to innovative scholarly research, the Bloomsbury Design Library provides unrivalled coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day.
Including a fast-expanding range of full-text content and images, underpinned by a specially developed taxonomy, the Bloomsbury Design Library is an invaluable resource for students, academics and researchers in Visual Arts and Design.
Explore the global history of design and crafts from pre-history to the present day
Discover more about influential designers and makers
Learn about everything from retro style to contemporary crafts, and from design for sustainability to the workings of the design industry
Understand the history of design in its social, political and economic context through an illustrated interactive timeline
Use VPN Realizing the integrated retrieval of Chinese and foreign periodicals. Among them, there are more than 8520 kinds of Chinese academic journals, which includes more than 1970 kinds of core journals of Peking University and more than 2150 first published online journals dating back to 1915 and totaling more than 57million full-text articles. Academic journals in foreign languages include more than 75,000 kinds of journals from more than 900 publishing houses in nearly 80 countries and regions, covering 96% of JCR journals and 90% of Scopus journals and dating back to the 19th century and containing more than 58million titles in foreign languages, which can link to full text.
The Georgia Tech Library licenses Series F Literature/History/Philosophy and Series G Politics/Military Affairs/Law
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
e-Duke Journals provides online access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. The collection includes flagship publications, such as Hispanic American Historical Review and GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies. It also includes important new scholarship in cutting-edge fields, such as TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly, Public Culture, and the Journal of Middle East Women’s Studies.
Access from VPN or a campus computer.
The library subscribes to the following modules from Jane's:
--All the World's Aircraft: Development & Production
--All the World's Aircraft: In Service
--All the World's Aircraft: Unmanned
--C4ISR & Mission Systems: Air
--Defence Equipment & Technology Intelligence Centre
-- Defence: Air & Space Module
--International Defence Review
--Space Systems & Industry
When using information form this resource, please cite janes.com.
When citing an image from this source, please cite janes.com and the image provider (noted in parenthesis under the image on Janes.com)
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Also, features over 100 hours of audio recordings, bringing the work of the Race Relations Department to life. Listen to eminent sociologists, civil rights activists, anthropologists, industry leaders and others participating in panel discussions and delivering speeches at the annual Race Relations Institutes. Also available are dictations of reports and the narration of the film slideshows 'Of a New Day Begun' and 'Rebirth in Roxbury'. Where possible, interactive and searchable transcriptions accompany the audio.
Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts. Please note this resource contains sexually explicit material.
Library owns Module II: Self-Expression, Community and Identity
The Wall Street Journal Online - provides full access to the wsj.com website and wsj.com/education. See more info for details. The first time you access this URL you will be asked to create an account. Please use the long form of your GT Account (e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org) as the email address to link your account to Georgia Tech licensed content. Once you have created an account you can also download the WSJ app on Android / iOS devices.
Majority of these topics can be found on our education page for professors:
WSJ Professor Hub includes critical thinking resources above and How-To Guides.
WSJ Seminar Series which highlights how to use WSJ's content to connect academic theory with real-world applications. In the past semesters we did a series of faculty seminars on how to use WSJ in their coursework. Past videos can be found on the archive section of the website.
Critical Thinking Resource offers you case studies you can utilize in your course. Currently available for business, finance, marketing, journalism, technology, and political science, each downloadable PDF includes WSJ articles along with a classroom application and questions. This can help you save time on lecture prep with articles and questions you can assign directly to your students.
Coronavirus Critical Thinking Resource - For professors who are looking to incorporate recent Coronavirus coverage into their courses we have created a Critical Thinking Resource with dedicated Coronavirus articles from The Wall Street Journal.
Assessment Tool offers you an easy way to assess your students’ knowledge of current events with WSJ articles. Each week, faculty contributors create and upload customizable multiple choice and true/false quizzes. Additionally, quizzes are auto graded and grades can be exported to add to your grade book or LMS.
WSJContext is the Journal’s first higher education-focused product allowing instructors to seamlessly integrate WSJ content into lectures through shared reading lists. WSJ Context makes it simple to curate relevant articles based on the courses you teach, allowing you to share important and timely news stories with students every week.
Integration with Canvas: The tool that can be integrated through canvas is WSJ Context and The Assessment Tool. Instructions on how to integrate WSJContext into Canvas can be found in the attached Canvas integration guide. There are also some instructions on the Canvas site which can be found here.
The Weekly Review newsletter is created by faculty contributors who source three to five discipline specific WSJ articles each week and write a pedagogical application as well as critical thinking questions that allows you to integrate into your classroom discussions or exams.
How-To Guides - offers you a trusted resource for interactive learning and student engagement during this time when remote teaching is more important than ever. Download the guides to discover simple and seamless ways to incorporate WSJ’s broad and adverse content into online classes.
Student Focused WSJ Content
Majority of these topics can be found on our education page for students.
Students.wsj.com is a website which brings together articles for students on: Job Prep, Finance Tips, Career Insights, and Expert Advice. "We are all business majors".
WSJ Noted - A new digital magazine that was created specifically to serve the needs and interests of those ages 18–34. Noted speaks to—and with—this younger generation as they navigate an evolving world.
Future View - (Published every Tuesday night.) Future View is a WSJ Opinion series which allows students to contribute to politics, culture and global affairs.
WSJ Money - Students can use this resource to find personal finance and money management information and submit money questions of their own. Financial aid officers and counselors will find the student loan content valuable as well.
WSJ Jobs - A place for students and career center staff to discover the latest information on business and careers. Students can find valuable information on how to best present themselves as they enter the labor market and ask WSJ reporters specific career questions.
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.