Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AdAge is the major trade periodical, issued weekly. Library's online subscription includes issue archive (see "more" below) Note: link will work; click on it at the end of the GT single sign-on service (OpenAthens) paragraph.
Link to periodical website for selected content of current issue; for full-text of previous articles, Library has access via ABI/Inform database (from 2003 to date; 1 month delay)
The annual "Leading National Advertisers" issue from Advertising Age is now online, with added content from AdAge's Data Center. For the top 100 "LNA", media spending is listed. For large brands within a company (e.g., Chevrolet, Buick - within GM ; M&M's - within Mars), media spending is also listed.
AdAge Data Center
Includes the annual "Leading National Advertisers" data for the top 200 corporate advertisers. Click on "Advertising Spending". Also includes top 200 megabrands (ex.: Kraft, McDonald's) total media spending, and, by general category (retail, etc.) - media spending. Click "Datacenter" from top of screen. Note: link will work; click on it at the end of the GT single sign-on service (OpenAthens) sparagraph.
Other Advertising Statistics
TV Ad Prices
Day-by-day primetime prices for ads on ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, and CW -- (source: Variety, Nov. 2, 2017)
AdAge's Marketing Fact Packs are available to download within the DataCenter. Non-subcribers can fill out a form to download, at Adage.com/Resources ; "for personal, non-commercial use only".
Advertising - History
Also consider browsing through our online historical newspapers - for the Atlanta Constitution [1881 to 1984] and New York Times [1851 to 2011]
The Library has acquired backfiles (as-is, newsstand versions) of some newspapers, general periodicals and business periodicals - ad content is searchable and viewable.
Newspapers: New York Times (1851-4 years ago) ; Atlanta Constitution (1858-1984). For more, see "News and Periodical Articles" page/tab.
Business periodicals: Fortune (1930-2000)
Women's Magazine Archive - includes: Better Homes and Gardens(1922-2005) ; Cosmopolitan (1886-2005) ; Essence (1970-2005) ; Good Housekeeping (1885-2005) ; Ladies' Home Journal (1885-2005) ; Parents (1926-2005 - some gaps) ; Redbook (1903-2005 - some gaps) Seventeen (1944-2005) ; Town & Country (1846-2005 - some gaps) ; Woman's Day (1937-2005)