It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PUBP 3120: Statistical Analysis for Public Policy: Datasets via GT Library
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. See the LibGuide for in-depth information on using this robust resource.
SAGE Research Methods has the answer for each user, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.
Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998 - currently. Access to publicly available content only.
Company directory of 12 million U.S. businesses. Create customized lists by combining geographical, size of business and line of business variables. Geographical search options are: zip code, MSA, county, city, state and area code. Size of business search options are: sales volume and number of employees. Line of business search options are: yellow page heading and SIC code. Can also search directly by company name or ticker symbol. Each record also contains contact name(s).
Please note the number of downloads per search is 500. If your search yields 2,000 results, you will need to do four (4) downloads.
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society. GSS Data Explorer, from NORC at the University of Chicago, makes it easier than ever to use the data collected by the GSS.
See the research guide. Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts.
Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The database allows users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
(Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users) Sign in as Guest if you do not want to create an account. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 10,000+ data variables.
SimplyAnalytic’s intuitive analysis tools generate detailed custom maps and reports for any location in the country. Users have access to demographics, consumer behavior (purchasing and product usage data including Consumer Expenditures), market segments and businesses (points-of-interest, establishments, employees, retail sales) for States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups. Users can also export data, maps, reports and GIS shapefiles for use outside of SimplyAnalytics.
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data, containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Available data can be browsed by topic or searched. Note that ICPSR does not provide publications, reports, or ready-made statistics. What ICPSR does supply are the numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and figures. The ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature is a continuously updated database of thousands of citations (not full text) of works using data held in the ICPSR archive. Users who desire to download members-only data and some publicly available data will need to establish an individual account with a GT email at a GT IP address (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/cgi-bin/newacct)
IMF eLibrary Data provides access to authoritative, harmonized global statistical data from the International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, Government Finance Statistics and Coordinated Portfolio Investment Statistics.
From Economist Intelligence Unit, ViewsWire pulls out relevant material from all of EIU's many publications and organizes it by country and region. Between 100-150 articles are added each day. The service goes beyond simply reporting news by incorporating sophisticated analyses of political, economic and business developments. For each country the information is arranged in three sections: Background, Briefings and Forecasts. EIU ViewsWire supports navigation by country, by subject, and by a powerful search facility, which includes the option to set up a range of personal profiles.
Statistical Insight is the most comprehensive source of federal statistics. It provides detailed abstracts, indexing, and locator information for all statistical reports of general research value issued by the federal government since the early 1960's. It includes direct links to all key statistical data available on federal agency World Wide Web sites as well as direct links to hundreds of reports stored within the Universe service itself. Statistical Universe enables easy access to statistics produced by major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The database also provides access to American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS).
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
US Federal statistical publications. 5,000 titles/year. Coverage from 1973; full text from 2004. (Also known as American Statistics Index, or ASI)
State government and business statistical reports. 2,200 titles/year. Coverage from 1980; full text from 2007. (Also known as Statistics Reference Index, or SRI)
International statistical publications from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. 2,500 titles/year. Coverage from 1980. Full text from 2007. (Also known as Index to International Statistics, or IIS)
Hundreds of thousands of statistical tables selected from the three publication modules. Tables are individually indexed to ensure precise search and retrieval. Coverage from 1999.
Essential Science Indicators allows researchers to: Analyze research performance of companies, institutions, nations, and journals; Identify significant trends in the sciences and social sciences; Rank top countries, journals, scientists, papers, and institutions by field of research; Determine research output and impact in specific fields of research; Evaluate potential employees, collaborators, reviewers, and peers. In-depth coverage with close to twelve million articles from over 12,000 journal titles from around the world; A solid basis for comparison of research performance that includes baselines, which are the benchmarks for assessing research impact; Expert guidance that enhances data which provides editorial comments from scientists and researchers.