GT 1201. Grand Challenges Living Learning Community: Tools, Assistance, Databases

• Research Process and Citing
  • The Research Process
  • Research/Writing/Citing Sources
  • Citation Styles, Tutorials, and Tools
  • EndNote
• Research Guides. Guides are written by librarians for use by Georgia Tech students. Organized by Subject (major/school) and by Type
• Databases. Index individual articles in journals and other sources.  Bibliographic and full text databases
  • Selected databases for GT 1201, listed alphabetically (see right column of this screen)
  • Selected databases, by topic
  • All Databases, by GT major/school and alphabetical
• Library Catalog lists books/e-books, theses, journal TITLES, and other material in the Library collection, both print and electronic
  • Click on "Request" to have print books retrieved (after "Sign-in")
  • Recall print books that are checked out -- click on "Request" link and fill out an interlibrary loan form, or ask the Library Service Desk (1st floor west counter, 404-894-4530) to "recall" the checked out book. All items can be subject to recall; the borrower is guaranteed 21 total days with items; recalled items which are needed for Course Reserves must be returned immediately.
• Borrowing
• Photocopies of articles: ILLiad request form. Use this form to request photocopies of individual papers in journals or conference proceedings (one request form for each article).
• Interlibrary Loan. Photocopies of articles in journals/conferences and loans of books not owned by the Georgia Tech Library
• Subject Librarians.  Contact your School's Subject Librarian for in-depth and quick customized one-on-one database search assistance and group instruction
• A librarian is available for drop-in research assistance at the Expert Consultation Center located on the 1st floor west of the Library nearby the entrance to the Clough building; hours are Monday through Friday noon to 4:00pm (when classes are held). The Center has been suspended for summer semester. For brief, quick help -- Need Help?.
• Library Classes
• Library Commons. Printing, software, etc.
• Course Reserves. Professors can place books (textbooks, recommended readings etc.) and other materials on Course Reserves, to make them available to all students in their classes
• Evaluating Internet Resources. Ethics
• Finding Books
• Library Services, Printing, Linking, Clough Commons (tutoring, OIT)
• Database search hints for selected engineering/science databases

• Subject Librarians.  Contact your School's Subject Librarian for in-depth and quick one-on-one assistance searching the Library's databases and for group instruction.

• You are welcome to  contact Bette Finn for assistance.

• Circulation questions (check-out books, etc.) -- Public Services area (Library Store), phone 404-894-4530.
• List of selected databases, arranged by topic, with in-depth descriptions
• Research Process and Citing
  • The Research Process
  • Research/Writing/Citing Sources
  • Citation Styles, Tutorials, and Tools
  • EndNote
• Research Guides. Guides are written by librarians for use by Georgia Tech students. Organized by Subject (major/school) and by Type
• Databases. Index individual articles in journals and other sources.  Bibliographic and full text databases
  • Selected databases for GT 1201, listed alphabetically (see right column of this screen)
  • Selected databases, by topic
  • All Databases, by GT major/school and alphabetical
• Library Catalog lists books/e-books, theses, journal TITLES, and other material in the Library collection, both print and electronic

List of all Library subscription databases, organized by general subject (usually by School/College)

List of selected databases, arranged by topic, with in-depth descriptions

Current database URLs can be found at "Research Tools" - "Find Databases" (http://libguides.gatech.edu/az.php)

Database lists:  A ; B ; C ;  D ;  E ; G ; H ; I ;  K ;  M ; N ; O ;  P ;  R ;   S ;  T ; U ; W

Database lists:  A ; B ; C ;  D ;  E ; G ; H ; I ;  K ;  M ; N ; O ;  P ;  R ;   S ;  T ; U ; W

Primary Databases

• Georgia Tech Library Catalog: books, titles of journals, and other material in the Library collection; print and electronic
• Combined Compendex and Inspec (Engineering Village; search together): All areas of engineering, electrical engineering, energy, computer science, physics, etc. Indexes to individual journal/conference articles
• Thomson Reuters databases; indexes to journal and conference papers. Web of Science Core Collection (Science and Social Science Citation Indexes). BIOSIS (bioscience). Medline (biomedical).
• Patents:  Derwent Innovations Index (Thomson Reuters) Added value keyword searches of worldwide patents
• ProQuest databases can be combined together. NTIS (technical reports), PAIS  (public affairs), Materials Research. Selected ProQuest health, public policy, and social science databases are linked below
• For photocopies of individual articles in journals and conference proceedings, fill out an ILLiad request form at http://illiad.library.gatech.edu/ (a separate ILLiad request form for each article)

Selected Databases and Research Guides:

Database lists:  A ; B ; C ;  D ;  E ; G ; H ; I ;  K ;  M ; N ; O ;  P ;  R ;   S ;  T ; U ; W

Georgia Tech Library's Catalog (books, etc.)

• Library Catalog searches for books/e-books, theses, journal TITLES, media, archival materials, maps, and other material in the Georgia Tech Library collection. Print and electronic
• After "Sign-in", click on "Request" ("Get It") to retrieve print books
• Recall print books that are checked out -- click on "Request" link. If the Library Catalog recall function is temporarily disabled for updating, ask the Library Service Desk (1st floor west counter, 404-894-4530) to "recall" the checked out book.
• "View It" for electronic holdings. Some records contain holdings for both electronic and print formats
• Catalog search hints: slides http://www.prism.gatech.edu/~bw21/2gil.pdf or http://www.prism.gatech.edu/~bw21/gilei.htm

Biological Sciences

• Database lists:  A ; B ;  W

• BIOSIS Citation Index (Thomson Reuters). Life sciences.
  • 1926+ BIOSIS Citation Index provides searching of nearly 5,000 journal titles and 20 million records in the life sciences field, as well as 165,000 documents from more than 1,500 meetings
  • "All Databases" combines all Thomson Reuters databases, including BIOSIS, Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index), Medline, Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and others
• Web of Science Core Collection (Thomson Reuters). Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900+), indexing major science and technology journals and some conferences. Web of Science Core Collection citation databases provide access to research literature through standard access points (keyword and author searches) and to cited references (bibliographies, footnotes) published with a scholarly paper. The cited reference search enables you to find articles that have cited a specific work by an author. "All Databases" searches all Thomson Reuters databases, including Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index), BIOSIS (bioscience), Medline (biomedicine), Zoological Record, and Derwent Innovations Index (patents)
• Agricola (EBSCO): Agricultural bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library
• Biology Research Guide
• Biology Databases

Business, Industry, Company, and Management Databases/Guides

• Research Guides: Business & Management ; Company Information ; Georgia & Atlanta Business ;  Industry Information ; International Business
  • Note "tabs" for Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, Market Share, Business Rankings, Company directories. Industry surveys are good for broad industries
  • Narrow, customized keyword searches are possible in many of these databases, such as ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
• Business and Management Research Guides (portal)
• Databases: Business & Management, Company, Industry, Directories, Georgia & Atlanta Business
• Economics Research Guide

Dissertations and Theses

• Database lists:   P
• Dissertations. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses A&I. 1861+ (selected 1639+). Many full text. Citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations at U.S. accredited institutions, along with selected Masters' theses and selected foreign dissertations.
• For Georgia Tech theses search the Library Catalog or the SMARTech repository

Education

• Database lists:  E
• ERIC. Education. ProQuest and EBSCOhost databases
  • 1966+ Educational Resources Information Center. The ERIC database covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics
  • Can combine ERIC with other ProQuest databases, such as Education Database (ProQuest)
  • Selected full text is at http://eric.ed.gov/
• Education Research Guide and Education Databases

Energy

• Database lists:   C ;  I ; N

• NTIS (ProQuest) indexes technical research reports. Includes a very large number of Department of Energy (DOE) reports.
• Combined Inspec and Compendex (Ei Village 2) databases (check both boxes). Indexes to engineering, physics, electrical engineering, computing journal and conference papers. Includes energy
• Energy - "SciTech Connect" (DOE) SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's DOE Information Bridge (full-text document coverage primarily from 1991 forward) and Energy Citations Database (DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present)

Engineering and Technology

• Database lists:  A ;  C ;  I ;   N ;

• Primary engineering databases (combine together): Compendex (Ei Village 2) and Inspec (Ei Village 2). Check both boxes
• Compendex (Engineering Village). Engineering 1884+ Contains almost 7.5 million records referencing 5,000 major engineering journals and major engineering conference materials. Combine with Inspec database (20% overlap)
• Inspec (Engineering Village). Electrical & computer engineering, physics, mechanical & production engineering, information technology, etc.  Inspec 1896+ Over 3,500 scientific and technical journals and some 1,500 conference proceedings, as well as selected books, reports and dissertations in the areas of electrical engineering, computer engineering, physics, electronics, communications, computers and control, mechanical and production engineering, and information technology in business. Combine with the Compendex engineering database (20% overlap)
• NTIS (ProQuest) Technical research reports NTIS 1964+ Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research. See the Technical Reports Research Guide for full text options
• Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) 1913+ Indexes major applied science technology journals and other publications
• Materials Research Database (ProQuest)   1966+ Materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. Can combine with other ProQuest databases
• Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database (ProQuest) 1967+ Aerospace and automotive
• Engineering Databases: Aerospace ; Biomedical ; ; Civil and Environmental ; Electrical and Computer ; Industrial and Systems ; Materials Science ; Mechanical and Nuclear
• Engineering Research Guides: Aerospace Engineering ; Biomedical Engineering ;  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering ; Civil Engineering ; Environmental Engineering ; Industrial & Systems Engineering ; Logistics & Transportation ; Mechanical Engineering ; Nuclear Engineering ; Operations Research ; Optimization ; Patents & Trademarks ; Standards ; Technical Reports ; Transportation Engineering

Environment, Recycling, Water purification, Sanitation, Waste

• Database lists:  A ; C ;  I ;   N
• Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest)
  • 1960+ Provides coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Can combine with other ProQuest databases
  • For ProQuest searches, limit your keyword searches to "ALL" using the "Advanced Search" drop down menu choice "Anywhere except full text -- ALL"
• Combine together Compendex (Ei Village 2) and Inspec (Ei Village 2) databases
• NTIS (ProQuest) technical reports. All federal agencies (EPA, etc.). Do not limit to full text or peer reviewed boxes
• Research Guides: Environmental Engineering ; Biology ; Technical Reports
• Databases: Environmental Engineering ; Biology

Handbooks

• Database lists:  A ;   E ;   K

• The Georgia Tech Library Catalog contains a large number of electronic and print reference books, such as handbooks and guides
• Knovel Library. (Elsevier) Engineering and science handbooks  With a focus on engineering and scientific references, the collection contains over 800 books
• EngnetBASE (now Taylor & Francis, Engineering). Engineering handbooks  Selected full text CRC Press engineering handbooks
• AccessEngineering (2 year PILOT PROGRAM until 5-2019)

Health, Medicine, and Psychology

• Database lists:  H ;  M ;   P ; W
• ProQuest databases:
  • Search multiple ProQuest databases at one time, removing duplicate records. To combine multiple databases (top of screen): click on "All databases" then click on the new "Databases (xx)"; for selected databases, uncheck "Select all" then check relevant selected databases
  • For ProQuest searches, limit your keyword searches to "ALL" using the "Advanced Search" drop down menu choice "Anywhere except full text -- ALL"
  • Combine selected ProQuest health databases: ProQuest Health and Medical Complete ; ProQuest Health Management ; ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source information ; Pharmaceutical News Index information ; ProQuest Biology Journals, ProQuest Family Health information, ProQuest Psychology Journals, etc.
• Medline (Thomson Reuters) Medical and biomedicine
  • Medline 1950+ The U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic medical and biomedical journal database
• Web of Science Core Collection (Thomson Reuters)
  • Indexes science and social science journals and some conferences. Web of Science Core Collection citation databases provide access to research literature through standard access points (keyword and author searches) and to cited references (bibliographies, footnotes) published with a scholarly paper.
  • "All Databases" combines all Thomson Reuters databases, including Medline, BIOSIS (bioscience), Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index), Derwent Innovations Index (patents), and others
• PsycINFO (EBSCO). 1887+ citations and summaries of psychology journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports
• Research Guides: Applied Physiology, Biology, Biomedical Engineering, Industrial and Systems Engineering (Health Systems), Psychology.
• Databases: Medicine/Health Sciences

Patents

• Database lists:   D ;

• Derwent Innovations Index. Good for keyword  patent searching. 1963+
  • Derwent Innovations Index facilitates precise patent searching and merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index
  • Inventor names: prior to 1992 maximum of eight inventors, with Soviet patents limit of three; from 1978 to 1980 limit three inventors with up to 10 characters; inventor names from Japanese patents are not included; format LASTNAME (maximum 30 characters) followed by a space and up to 3 initials
• Free sites for downloading/printing full image U.S. patents: (1) United States Patent & Trademark database search http://patft.uspto.gov/ ; (2) pat2pdf.org ; (3) Patent Fetcher ; (4) espcenet, U.S. and selected worldwide patents http://worldwide.espacenet.com/, (5) WIPO ; (6) Google search
• Patents & Trademarks Research Guide  Patents Guide compiled by Lisha Li, Georgia Tech representative to the United States Patent and Trademark Depository Libraries Program

Public Affairs, Social Sciences

• Database lists: A ;   C ;   E ;  N ;  P ;  S ; W

• ProQuest databases can be combined together
  • Search multiple ProQuest databases at one time, removing duplicate records. To combine multiple databases (top of screen): click on "All databases" then click on the new "Databases (xx)"; for selected databases, uncheck "Select all" then check relevant selected databases
  • For ProQuest searches, limit your keyword searches to "ALL" using the "Advanced Search" drop down menu choice "Anywhere except full text -- ALL"
  • PAIS  International (ProQuest) 1914+ Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.
  • Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 1952+ International literature of sociology - journal articles, books, dissertations, etc.
  • ERIC; 1966+ Education and related topics (ERIC is both a ProQuest database and an EBSCO database)
  • NTIS (ProQuest) 1964+ Government funded tresearch reports
  • ProQuest Criminal Justice 1981+ ; Education Database (ProQuest) 1988+ ; ProQuest Political Science 1985+ ; ProQuest Psychology Journals  ; ProQuest Social Science Journals ; ProQuest Sociology 1985+ Sociology and social work ; Social Services Abstracts‎ 1979+ ; Social work and human services
• Web of Science Core Collection). Journal literature of the social sciences Web of Science Core Collection citation databases provide access to research literature through standard access points (keyword and author searches of social science journal and some conference papers) and to cited references (bibliographies, footnotes) published with a scholarly paper. The cited reference search enables you to find articles that have cited a specific work by an author.  Includes: Social Sciences Citation Index (1956+)
• PsycINFO (EBSCO) 1887+ citations and summaries of psychology journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. Can be combined with other EBSCO databases such as PsycArticles (EBSCO)
• Research Guides:  Public Policy ; International Affairs ; History (and Sociology) ; Psychology ; Education ; Government Information ; Economics ; Statistical Information ; Technical Reports
• Databases:  Public Policy ; History, Technology and Society (Sociology) ; International Affairs ; Psychology ;  Education ;  Government Information xxxx
• General aggregator databases. ProQuest Central and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO).
  • Keyword searches in ProQuest and EBSCO databases can also be limited to specific fields, such as the Title, Author, or Subject fields (Advanced Search)
  • ProQuest Central. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content, with a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, and newspapers
    • For ProQuest searches, limit your keyword searches to "ALL" using the "Advanced Search" drop down menu choice "Anywhere except full text -- ALL".
    • Using "Advanced Search" results can be limited to " Peer reviewed" and/or "Full text". Includes Research Library (ProQuest) database.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). Can use "Advanced" search to limit to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) "  and/or "Full Text"

Standards

• Database lists:  A ;  I ;

• The Georgia Tech Library subscribes to two full text electronic standards databases -- IEEE and ASTM.
• Standards Research Guide
• The "Standards at Georgia Tech" tab lists a few selected Georgia Tech standards and free standards, such as the DOE Technical Standards Program.
• The Standards Research Guide also links to sources for fee-based standards (vendors and society web sites)

Systems Engineering and Logistics

• Industrial and Systems Engineering Research Guide  ;  Industrial and Systems Engineering Databases

Technical Reports

• NTIS (ProQuest) 1964+ Technical research reports
  • Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Department of Energy, Department of Defense, NASA, EPA, and other federal agencies, and selected international government departments and organizations
  • Do NOT limit to Full Text and do NOT limit to Peer Reviewed or Scholarly
  • The Find It @ GT command rarely works, since nearly all reports are NOT in the Library Catalog
• See the Technical Reports Research Guide for full text options
• The Georgia Tech library owns over 2,500,000 technical reports (microfiche collection)
• Selected full text reports are available through agency internet sites (DOE, DoD, NASA/NACA, EPA, ERIC)
• For individual technical reports that are not currently held in the Georgia Tech collection, a request (techreports@library.gatech.edu) may be made to add a title to the Library's collection; this service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff

Transportation and Infrastructure

• Database lists:  A ; C ;  I ;   N ;  T

• TRID: Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) and ITRD Transportation Research Board. References to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research
• NTIS (ProQuest) for technical research reports
• Combined Inspec and Compendex (Ei Village 2) databases for journal and conference papers.
• Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database 1962+ (ProQuest) Aerospace and automotive
• Research Guide: Civil Engineering and Transportation Engineering.
• Databases Civil and Environmental Engineering

WorldCat (database of library catalogs)

• OCLC's U.S. and worldwide WorldCat library catalog database is the OCLC online catalog. WorldCat contains over 43 million records describing library holdings. Can conduct keyword/subject searches.
• Using the WorldCat Advanced Search, retrieval can be limited to the "Books" type. Search the book titles in the Georgia Tech Library Catalog; if the books are not owned by the Georgia Tech Library, they can be requested through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).

Additional selected databases, arranged by topic (with detailed descriptions)

Selected databases search Commands Comparison Chart. 

Database search hints for selected engineering/science databases

Subject Librarians (one-on-one in-depth assistance)

Expert Consultation Center (drop-in search assistance)