Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nanoscience & Nanotechnology: Databases Descriptions

Databases Descriptions

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) info Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

The ACM Digital Library provides access to citations and full-text content of journals, newsletters, articles and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.

Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. In addition to periodical literature, the database includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.

The AIAA electronic library contains technical information and documents online, including books, meeting papers, journals and standards.

Provides citations and abstracts to journals, industry and trade publications, society publications and specialized periodicals in science, engineering and technology. Coverage spans many specialties. Includes Applied Science & Business Periodicals Index Retrospective (1913-1983)

The Beilstein CrossFire database covers the worldwide literature of organic chemistry from 1779 to the present and corresponds to the print Beilstein Handbook of Organic Compounds. Database content focuses on preparations/reactions and chemical, physical and biological properties and is structure searchable. NOTE: The Commander software must be downloaded. For instructions on doing so, please consult the Crossfire Instructions.

BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive reference database for life science research. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters.

Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.

DOE Information Bridge provides results of Department of Energy R&D in energy technologies, physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, and more. It can be used to search and download full-text and/or bibliographic information since 1995. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older DOE technical reports on microfiche. Contact Information Services at (404) 894-4530 for more information.For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.

IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and Institution of Electrical Engineers transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Also known as IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL).

Over 3,500 scientific and technical journals and some 1,500 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports and dissertations in the areas of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, manufacturing and production engineering, and information technology. It is also cross searched with Referex Engineering, a database of over 300 engineering books covering the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; and, chemical, petrochemical and process. Beginning fall 2003, the INSPEC database is now available with a new search engine and includes links to full-text through the SFX link or the full-text button. Tutorial is available at http://www.iee.org/publish/support/inspec/document/UserG/UserGuide.pdf

MRS (Materials Research Society) Online Proceedings Library contains peer-reviewed papers presented at MRS Meetings since the 2000 Spring meeting. Papers are also available for a portion of the 1998 and 1999 Fall Meetings and two Scientific Basis of Nuclear Waste Management titles. Titles designated with an “E” after the volume number are ONLY available online.
Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, NASA, and other federal agencies, and international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries. Some additional older research reports may be indexed in the STAR index, available at call number TL500 .S35.
Provides access to NASA aerospace information and domestic and international STI (scientific and technical information) pertinent to NASA's missions. Contains the searchable CASITRS (RECONselect) and NACA Technical Reports databases and databases from selected space and aeronautics centers. Includes research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, operational documents, and preliminary data (with some full-text coverage). Coverage begins with 1917.For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
National Library of Medicine. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE


SciFinder info The SciFinder database provides access to a suite of Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. Georgia Tech's license provides for 8 simultaneous users and includes the substructure searching module.

Web of Science info The Web of Science provides web access to three ISI databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 -), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-), and Arts & Humanities Search (1975 -). Web of Science allows access to research literature through standard access points (author, title, subject) and to cited references (footnotes, bibliography) published with a scholarly paper. The cited reference search enables you to find articles that have cited a specific work by an author. Tutorials are available at:http://www.thomsonisi.com/tutorials/wok3 and http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7/