Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patents & Trademarks: PubWEST/PubEAST

This page include subscription based resources that are only available to the Georgia Tech community.

About PubEAST/PubWEST

What is PubWEST?

  • WEST stands for Web-based Examiner's Search Tool.  It is an internal USPTO database for use by US patent examiners and patent researchers.
  • PubWEST is the public version of WEST, which is offered only in the Public Search Facility at USPTO and PTRCs.

PubWEST Features

  • Full-text searching for U.S. patents from 1920's.
  • Multiple database searching
  • Precision searching
  • Easier printing
  • Selected data downloading
  • Foreign patent document retrieval

What is PubEAST?

  • EAST stands for Examiners Automated Search Tool.  It is a software interface that connects with the USPTO patent database files.
  • PubEAST is the public version of EAST, which is offered only in the Public Search Facility at USPTO and PTRCs.

PubEAST Features

  • Use BRS (Bibliographic Retrieval Services) search engine
  • Multiple database searching
  • IS&R Form for fast multiple patent numbers and classification search
  • Precision searching
  • Fast viewing documents
  • Custormizing display format
  • Tagging for grouping records
  • Foreign patent document retrieval

PubWEST/PubEAST Contents

      PubWEST/PubEAST is a collection of patent databases, including:

  • U.S. Patent Full-Text,
  • U.S. Published Patent Applications,
  • U.S. Patents 1920-1970 OCR File, and some documents from 1971-1976,
  • EPO Abstracts,
  • JPO Abstracts, and
  • FPRS (Foreign Patents Retrieval System).

Access to PubEAST/PubWEST is available at the PTRC. For more information or to make an appointment for PubWEST/PubEAST training, please call: 404-385-7185, or email: patentscoordinator@library.gatech.edu

Subject Guide

Lisha Li's picture
Lisha Li
Contact:
404-385-7185
lisha.li@library.gatech.edu

Civil Engineering
Environmental Engineering
Patents & Trademarks