Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- ASCE Civil Engineering Database - Indexes all ASCE publications from 1958, and abstracts from 1970, including all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by the society. This database has over 100,000 index records and abstracts. Click on Journals Online link for access to full-text of ASCE journal articles, where available.
- Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals - Includes 2,800 journals published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1860.
- Compendex - (1884+ ) - Compendex(R) contains almost 7.5 million records referencing 5,000 major engineering journals and major engineering conference materials. Can combine with Inspec.
- The GeoRef database provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and contains over 2.2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses
TRID - Transportation Research International Database (formerly TRIS)
- TRID combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
(1964+ ) - Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Department of Energy, NASA, EPA, and other federal agencies, and selected international government departments and organizations. The Georgia Tech library holds over 2,500,000 technical reports (microfiche collection
2nd floor east). Selected full text reports are available through agency internet sites (DoD, DOE, NASA/NACA, EPA, ERIC) http://www.library.gatech.edu/search_locate/techres/techrepfulltxt.htm
. Selected technical reports are listed in the locally loaded Government Funded Technical Reports
(GFTR) databases and in the GIL Catalog
. For individual technical reports that are not currently held in the Georgia Tech collection, a request (firstname.lastname@example.org
) may be made to add a title to the Library's collection; this service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
Web of Science
- Provides web access to three ISI databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 -), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-), and Arts & Humanities Search (1975 -). Web of Science allows access to research literature through standard access points (author, title, subject) and to cited references
) published with a scholarly paper. The cited reference search enables you to find articles that have cited a specific work by an author.
- ABI/Inform Complete - Provides full text for over 2,200 U.S. and international journals covering all aspect of business and management. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 3,375 journals.
- Academic Search Complete - A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals. Subjects covered include: archaeology, area studies, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, general science, geology, law, mechanical engineering, and many other fields.
- Aerospace & High Technology Database (1962+ ) - Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. In addition to periodical literature, the database includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. Can combine with other Cambridge Scientific Abstracts databases, such as NTIS.
- AGRICOLA (EBSCO) - AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (1913+ ) - Provides citations and abstracts to journals, industry and trade publications, society publications and specialized periodicals in science, engineering and technology. Good general science journal index.
- ASME Digital Library - Provides full- text access to American Society of Mechanical Engineers journals published since 2000.
- BIOSIS Previews (1969+ ) - A comprehensive reference database for life science research. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters. Can be combined with Medline and Web of Science.
- Business Source Complete - A business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) (1861+ ) - Citations and abstracts of doctoral dissertations at all U.S. accredited institutions and some Masters' theses and foreign dissertations. For free access to 1997+ GA Tech PDFs, off-campus GT users should search Dissertations from Georgia Tech via UMI and the Catalog.
- DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center Public STINET database) - Provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents, as well as selected electronic full-text of selected documents.
- Energy Citations Database (1948+ ) - ECD contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). ECD provides access to DOE publicly available citations. ECD links to selected full-text reports, also available in the DOE Information Bridge database at http://www.osti.gov/bridge/ (full-text from 1994).
- Energy Technology Data Exchange (ETDE World Energy Base) (1995+ ) - In addition to information from International Energy Agency countries, ETDEWEB contains worldwide information in the nuclear, coal, and global climate change areas. This broader coverage comes through cooperative alliances with the International Atomic Energy Agency’s International Nuclear Information System (INIS) and IEA Coal Research - The Clean Coal Centre. This database is available free to U.S. citizens, but registration is required to obtain an account and password (for remote access).
- ENGnetBASE - Contains the contents of over 900 Engineering Handbooks from CRC Press, covering all areas of engineering. It's possible to search and display chapters from each title or across the whole range of titles.
- GFTR (Government Funded Technical Reports) -Digitized technical reports in full text from 2007 on.
- IEEE Xplore - IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and Institution of Electrical Engineers transactions, journals, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Includes selected papers before 1988. Also known as IEEE/IEE (IET) Electronic Library (IEL).
- JSTOR - An electronic archive of core scholarly journals, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of the entire backfiles of key journals. Over 246 academic journals cover the subject areas of Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Sociology, and Statistics.
- Knovel Library. - With a focus on engineering and scientific references, the collection contains over 1,300 books. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, microelectronics materials, electrical engineering, electronic engineering, chemical engineering, systems engineering, food sciences, and mechanical engineering.
- Lexis-Nexis - Contains over 5,600 publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English and many other languages), legal news, general interest magazines, trade publications, company financial information, etc. It's a good source for current events.
- Materials Research Database with Metadex (1966+ ) - Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. METADEX is a comprehensive source for citations to literature on metals and alloys. Can combine with other Cambridge Scientific Abstracts databases, such as NTIS and Aerospace.
- MathSciNet (1940+ ) - Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature.
- National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) - EPA's electronic documents site allows you to search, view and print, including full images of all original pages and full-text, from a collection of over 11,000 archival and current documents. Includes 400 Series (Air and Radiation, OAR), 500 Series (Solid Waste and Emergency Response, OSWER), 600 Series (Research and Development, ORB), 700 Series (Prevention, Pesticides and Toxic Substances, OPPTS) and 800 Series (Water, OW) and more. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older EPA technical reports on microfiche. Contact Information Services at (404) 894-4530 for more information.For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
- Newspaper Source - Provides current information from daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Hong Kong Standard, The Jakarta Post, and Jordan Today. Also, provides full text for 200 regional U.S. newspapers.
- PapersFirst - (1993+ ) Citations for papers presented at conferences worldwide, from the vast collection of proceedings owned by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
- Patent and Trademark, U.S. - This searchable database of patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office includes patents from 1790. Patents from 1790 through 1975 are searchable only by Patent Number and Current US Classification. Patents granted from 1976 are text-searchable. See also the GT Library's Patents and Trademarks Research Guide.
- Referex Engineering - A searchable database providing access to the full text of over 300 engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books, how-to-guides and titles focused on technique and practice, as well as specialized professional information. Use "eBook Search" (Engineering Village). The collections cover the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; chemical, petrochemical and process; civil and environmental; computing; and, security and networking.
- Research Library (ProQuest) - Research Library provides full text for over 1,040 scholarly journals and general magazines and provides abstracts and indexing for over a hundred more.
- Science.gov - Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
- ScienceDirect - Offers access to full-text articles of 1,800 journals across 24 fields of science including the social sciences.
- SciFinder - Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS (1907+), CAS REGISTRY (chemical names and structures, 1957+), CASREACT (single and multi-step reactions, 1840+), CHEMCATS (commercially available chemicals, 1997+), CHEMLIST (regulatory information, 1979+). SciFinder web version. "Exit" when finished.
- SMARTech - Georgia Tech institutional repository.
Social Sciences Abstracts (Wilson/EBSCO)
- The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
SourceOECD Science and Technology Database
- SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
- Specs & Standards (ASTM and standards index) - Provides bibliographic data for over 350,000 active and historical standards from over 730 organizations from around the world. It also provides complete document pages for all active American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards. See also the GT Library's Standards, Specifications & Building Codes Research Guide.
- Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- A Guide to Sources of data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. Statistical Abstracts contains statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States and selected foreign countries.
- WorldCat - World's most comprehensive collection of bibliographic records from library catalogs worldwide, containing over 52 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines (not articles), sound recordings, and videotapes. Includes records representing 400 languages.
- More - Databases A-Z.