Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics; United States
See also statistical information in various Research Guides, such as Research Guides for Mathematics, Public Policy, and International Affairs, and Patricia Kenly's Research Guides for Government Information, Business & Management, Company Information, Georgia & Atlanta Business, Industry Information, International Business. Examples of subcategories are Databases, Statistics, Statistical Sources, Data Sets, Demographics, Economic Conditions, etc. Statistics is a "Database Type" in the A-Z Databases list. This guide - Statistics Databases.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Easy download and manipulation of data. Formerly issued annually by the Census Bureau (1878-2012 http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical_abstract.html); the Census Bureau version ceased in 2012. ProQuest is compiling the data and has produced a database, which the state consortia, GALILEO added for its member institutions. ProQuest's version provides excellent summaries of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Searchable population, housing, and business/industry census data from the US Census Bureau
Issued monthly, it contains annual data as well as quarterly data from 1998 forward (seasonally adjusted). Prepared by the Council of Economic Advisors.
FedStats:One Stop Shopping for Federal Statistics
Website contains statistics from more than 70 agencies in the federal government
Statistical Resources on the Web
Excellent grouping of links to business statistics such as foreign trade, housing, consumer prices, demographics and labor. From the University of Michigan's Document's Center.
Survey of Current Business
This is the primary source for data on GNP and GNP for the U.S. Each issue also has a summary about the U.S. business situation. Final as well as preliminary estimates of key business cycle indicators are reported here (at the national, state, and regional levels). From the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the Department of Commerce
Summaries of economic conditions in Federal Reserve districts. Released 8 times per year - both national summary and district reports. Site has archive back to 1970.
Economic Report of the President: Transmitted to the Congress
The Council of Economic Advisors writes this lengthy annual report. The web site has useful download features, with many data items from the 1950's to the present.
Finding Statistics Fast and Finding Statistics
Government Information Research Guide
(1) "Finding Statistics Fast" PowerPoint presentation
(2) "Finding Statistics" Handout - detailed list of links, by topic, from the presentation
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Subscription database (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Universe). It enables easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The database is composed of American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Statistical Datasets, and Index to International Statistics (IIS). Subscription
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Many federal government, as well as significant private sources. Subscription
Social Explorer (Oxford)
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The database allows users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. Current; access limited to GT users
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Statistical Abstract is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country.