Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business & Management: Company Directories

Research Guide for general Business and Management resources

Historical Business Directories

Co Directories

National:

Reference USA - about 40 million businesses

     also, includes "New Businesses" module - about 4 million companies

Mergent Intellect - more than 70 million US companies, plus more than 200 million global companies. Replaces D&B Million Dollar Database.

PrivCo - private companies in US. Has much on M&A and private equity deals. Note: create individual account.

LexisNexis Directory of Corporate Affiliations (within Nexis Uni)  (From "Menu", select "Company Dossier")

     (print editions offsite, at Library Services Center, from 1967 - to 2016 - REFERENCE HG4057.A219 - use Library Catalog to request it be sent to GT Library )

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     note: print materials are offsite; use Library Catalog to request them to be sent to GT Library

Brands and Their Companies - via Gale Directory Library database (database also includes the "reverse" print title, Companies and Their Brands); print ed. at Library Services Center (offsite): T223.V4 A2225x - from 1990 on

Thomas Register  (ThomasNet)   --  also, historical -  from 1905 to 2006, in microfilm - offsite, Library Services Center -- TS199.T45

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies - about 100,000 companies - via Gale Directory Library database

Companies and Their Brands  (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  T223.V4 A253 - and from 1990 on 5th floor)

D&B Business Rankings  (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HG4057.A237)

D&B Consultants Directory  (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HD69.C6 D86x)

D&B Industrial Guide (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  TS203.D8

Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources   (offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HG64.P73)

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations... previous years offsite, Library Services Center -- REFERENCE  HG4057.A4

 

Local and State:

Reference USA  - 40 million businesses - can search by zip, county, MSA, state, and by size as well as industry codes

       New Businesses module; Historical Businesses module (most recent 10 years)

Mergent Intellect - 70 million US businesses plus 200 million global businesses. Replaces D&B Million Dollar Database.

Atlanta Business Chronicle Book of Lists (December issue) - offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HF5068.A8 B665

Corporation Search  (GA Secretary of State website)

Georgia Business Directory - offsite, Library Services Center - HF5056.G4 G46 from 1989 to about 2016 (some gaps)

Georgia Manufacturers Register   (offsite, at LSC -- HD9727.G4 G43 - library has from 1992-2003 (some gaps) - use Library Catalog to request it be sent to GT Library)

Official Georgia Manufacturers Directory  (offsite, at LSC - REFERENCE  HF5065.G4 H37 use Library Catalog to request it be sent to GT Library)

International:

Mergent Intellect - more than 200 million global companies. Replaces D&B Million Dollar Database

Canadian Businesses - 2 million companies (access via Reference USA platform)

Nexis Uni  - From Menu, select "Company Dossier"

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

     note: print materials are offsite; use Library Catalog to request them to be sent to GT Library

D&B Principal International Businesses  (offsite, Library Services Center -- REFERENCE  HF54.U5 P74)

Europe's 15,000 Largest Companies (offsite, Library Services Center -- REFERENCE   HD2356.E9 E93)

Who Owns Whom. Australasia, Asia, Middle East and Africa  (offsite, Library Services Center -- REFERENCE  HG4009.W462)

Who Owns Whom. North and South America  (offsite, Library Services Center -- REFERENCE  HG4009.W464)

Who Owns Whom. United Kingdom and Ireland   (offsite, Library Services Center -- REFERENCE  HG4009.W465)