Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Company Information: National

Research Guide for Company Information resources

National Directories

National:

Reference USA  -  40 million businesses

     also, 2 modules:  New Businesses - about 4 million companies ; Historical Businesses

Mergent Intellect - more than 70 million US companies, plus more than 200 million global companies. Replaces D&B Million Dollar Database

PrivCo - 400,000 private companies in the US - has many M&A and private equity deals. Note: create individual account.

ThomasNet  (formerly, Thomas Register)

Brands and Their Companies - via Gale Directory Library database

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies - 100,000 companies - via Gale Directory Library database

LexisNexis Directory of Corporate Affiliations (within Nexis Uni). From "Menu", select "Company Dossier"

Print editions of older directories -- offsite, Library Services Center

LexisNexis Directory of Corporate Affiliations - from 1967 to 2016 - offsite, Library Services Center -  HG4057.A219 [note: slight title changes during these years]

Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources  - offsite, Library Services Center  - REFERENCE  HG64.P73 -- 2003 to 2015 [previous title, Pratt's Guide to Venture Capital Sources --  REFERENCE HG65.G83 -- 1996-2002]

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives - offsite, Library Services Center  - REFERENCE  HG4057.A4  - 1963-2011 [slight title change]   (Geographical Index volumes are call number: REFERENCE HG4057.A41)

Thomas Register (on microfilm, 1905-2006) - offsite, Library Services Center - TS199.T45

_________________________________________________________________________

Brands and Their Companies - offsite, Library Services Center -  T223.V4 A2225x -  from 1990 to 2011

Companies and Their Brands  - offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  T223.V4 A253 - 1990 to 2011

Corporate Yellow Book - 2016 ed. only -- offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HG4057.A15646

D&B Business Rankings  - offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HG4057.A237 - 1982 to 2017

D&B Consultants Directory  - offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  HD69.C6 D86x - 1986 to 2017 [2017 is "Core Reference"]

D&B Industrial Guide - offsite, Library Services Center - REFERENCE  TS203.D8 - 2015-2017 [2017 is "Core Reference"]