Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Questions? Reference 1st floor west, 404-894-4530. In-depth assistance: Subject Librarians
See also statistical information in various Research Guides (http://www.library.gatech.edu/guides/),
such as Government Information, Business & Management, Company Information, Economics, Georgia &
Atlanta Business, Industry Information, International Affairs,
International Business, and Public Policy. Examples of subcategories
such as Databases, Statistics, Statistical Sources, Data Sets,
Demographics, Economic Conditions, etc.
Europa World Year Book
Authoritative annual source of information on countries.
National Trade Data Bank (NTDB) is the primary database within this U.S. government source. For more than 200 countries, includes profiles of industries (Industry Sector Analysis), economic & political conditions (Country Commercial Guides - CCG) and specific market conditions/opportunities for US companies (International Marketing Insight Reports).
Statistical Resources on the Web
Excellent grouping of links to business statistics such as foreign trade, housing, consumer prices, demographics and labor. From the University of Michigan's Document's Center.
Statistical Resources Online
This research guide provides links to some of the best online sources for international statistical information. The resources have been reviewed and selected by Library Network research librarians for use by World Bank Group and IMF staff. Most are free Internet resources.
Data and Statistics: https://researchguides.worldbankimflib.org/c.php?g=1037914&p=7525922
United Nations: Statistical Yearbook (biennial)
Statistics for member countries of the United Nations.
HA12.5.U63 Information Services Desk
access limited to GT users
USA Trade Online
Specific U.S. export and import data on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide. New feature ? port-level data available. Part of the U.S. government depository program. Ask at the Information Services Desk (1st floor west) to be logged in at the documents workstation.
Info. Services Desk (on STAT-USA at documents workstation) ; password required (librarian will log in user). Access limited to GT campus
Demographic Yearbook: United Nations
This comprehensive compilation of demographic and related statistics for over 200 countries or areas of the world. Some data from 1948 on is available online: http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/dyb/dyb2.htm HA17 .D45
Global Statistics: United Nations
Includes upcoming events, statistics site of the month, international statistics, and national statistics.
International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics
International statistics for industrial production by type of industry. From the United Nations.
HC10.I68 Reference. Access limited to GT users
Welcome to NationMaster.com, a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's web site contains selected economic statistics of its 30 member countries. From the left frame, select "Browse" - by topic or by country; or "Find - Statistics", which contains long abstracts of reports. "Frequently Requested Statistics" is a link from the right frame and contains GDP, consumer price indices and the annual publication OECD in Figures.
Information included within program areas. For example, within "Economic & Social Development" is the text of the latest Human Development Report
World Bank Group
Specific country and economic information is available by selecting the tab "Understanding Poverty" , then "Data & Research".
Breadth of coverage (more than 260 countries) and brevity are the hallmarks of this standard source from the CIA. The web site features a rank order for GDP and inflation rate.