Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technical Reports - Information for Georgia Tech users
Please see the detailed online Technical Reports research guide by Bette Finn.
For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request (firstname.lastname@example.org) may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
NTIS and NASA sell technical reports.
Technical Reports Databases
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Subscription database. Covers more than 2 million records of research sponsored by the U. S. government. Note: summaries only. FREE NTIS database is at: http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx (limited searching) .
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
NTIS full-text for 800,000 technical reports, and with metadata for some pre-1964 reports. Personal account for free public access (requires username and password).
DOE Data Explorer
Department of Energy R&D in energy technologies, physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, and more.
NTRS (NASA Technical Reports Server)
Includes more than 500,000 aerospace-related citations, 90,000 full-text online documents, and 100,000 images and video.
TRID (Transportation Research International Database)
Formerly TRIS database; from the Transportation Research Board. "TRID covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains more than 900,000 citations of published research" Focus is on books, technical reports, and conference proceedings. Over 64,000 records contain links to full-text documents.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
Digitized reports; focus is on pre-1975 technical reports issued by the U.S. government.
National Laboratories and Technology Centers
Dept. of Energy (DOE) list of national labs.