Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Georgia Tech's Library will be a Center of Excellence (COE) in the Southeast for NASA materials from the federal depository program.
NASA - The Space Shuttle
Timeline, orbiter facts, crew directory, and more.
Wings in Orbit: Scientific and Engineering Legacies of the Space Shuttle, 1971-2010
More than 500 pages; a treasure trove of info. It also has appendices for: Flight Information - showing patch, orbiter, crew, launch date, mission days; and: Payloads and Experiments per Space Shuttle Flight (also in library, 3rd floor east: NAS 1.21: 2010-3409)
Lockheed Martin site for info. on the Orion Multi-Purpose Crew Vehicle (MPCV), the "next generation spacecraft". Click on launch photo for Orion Information booklet (52 pgs; p.4-5 - diagram) ; or, Orion Fact Sheet for 2-page overview.
STS-135: The Final Mission - Press Kit
Detailed info. (172 pgs.) from NASA on STS-135. Includes space shuttle history (p.7-56), plus brief info. on the new MPCV.
Post-Shuttle Age: the Future of NASA
This accompanies the Blended Research@the Library panel discussion (March 2011) on the future of NASA after the shuttle program ends.
Apollo by the Numbers: a Statistical Reference
345-page book of statistical tables and data related to the Apollo program.
Mission: To drive Florida economic development across the global aerospace enterprise.
Celebrating 30 Years of the Space Shuttle Program
Lavishly illustrated; 286 pages. Download for free, or buy from the GPO bookstore - https://bookstore.gpo.gov/
Newsletters - National Labs
Handout - ALA Midwinter (Seattle, 2019)
Technical Reports (Gov't-funded)
For more detail, please see the library's Technical Reports Research Guide, written by Bette Finn, ECE librarian.
NTIS (via ProQuest CSA)
Try this first. Subscription database. For free NTIS database, see: http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
NTIS full-text for 800,000 technical reports, and with metadata for some pre-1964 reports. Personal account for free public access (requires username and password).
Combines DOE databases on science, technology, and engineering research information. Many technical reports.
DOE Data Explorer
Scientific research data resulting from DOE-funded research
DTIC Online (from Defense Technical Information Center)
For free access: http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/search/tr/index.html
NASA Technical Reports Server (NASA)
For free access: http://ntrs.nasa.gov/search.jsp
Formerly TRIS. Transportation. For free access: http://trid.trb.org/search.aspx
Digitization project for a few gov't. agencies, including NBS.
DOE Information Bridge
Became part of SciTech Connect, then that became part of OSTI.gov
Retired search tool within DOE's OSTI. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older DOE technical reports on microfiche.
Gov't. Science Databases
Searches 50 databases, and 2100 websites, from 13 federal agencies. Now also includes Homeland Security.
Searches not only DTIC's technical reports, but also 400 sources, including gov't. labs and other federal agencies.
Global science gateway, comprised of national and international scientific databases. Multilingual.
The Georgia Tech Library has been a Patent and Trademark Resource Center since 1946.
We will be a Center of Excellence (COE) in the Southeast for USPTO materials.
Conference Handouts with Gov't. Info. Sources
Center of Excellence
Georgia Tech's Library will be a Center of Excellence (COE) in the Southeast; and, expanding our collection for these federal agencies: NASA ; USPTO ; EPA. The COE is part of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) Collaborative Federal Depository Program. For more info., see the box under the "FDLP Info." tab.