It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Security Studies: Nonproliferation & Arms Control
A guide to resources in international security, military, defense, and intelligence studies. Subguide to the International Affairs subject guide.
Includes monthly Arms Control Today, subject resources (each with an RSS feed), country resources, fact sheets and briefs, treaties and agreements, book reviews, interviews, links (includes a blogroll), and more.
"The Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists informs the public about threats to the survival and development of humanity from nuclear weapons, climate change, and emerging technologies in the life sciences. Through an award-winning magazine, our online presence, and the Doomsday Clock, we reach policy leaders and audiences around the world with information and analysis about efforts to address the dangers and prevent catastrophe."
With 84 Nobel Laureates on its Board of Sponsors, FAS provides timely, nonpartisan technical analysis on complex global issues that hinge on science and technology. Priding itself on agility and an ability to bring together people from many disciplines and organizations, the organization often addresses critical policy topics that are not well covered by other organizations.
FAS projects are organized under three main program areas:
* Energy and the Environment
* Learning Technologies
* Strategic Security
"Since the founding of the National Security Archive, nuclear crises, nuclear proliferation, and the role of nuclear weapons in U.S. policy have been central to its FOIA requesting. The overwhelming importance of the problem of nuclear weapons—an existential threat since the early years of the Cold War—has made this an essential focus. One of the Archive's first major projects was on the Cuban Missile Crisis; during the 1990s, other projects on Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy and U.S. Nuclear History followed. By the late 1990s, with the emergence of the World Wide Web, the Archive began routinely to post briefing books on nuclear weapons policy issues. The broad scope of the Archive's work on nuclear issues makes it worth gathering together this online material to make it more readily accessible to interested researchers.
The "Nuclear Vault" includes all previous and forthcoming Archive Electronic Briefing Books on nuclear weapons policy, cross-referenced with an index. It also includes newly-declassified documents that may be of interest to novices and experts alike.
For students of the field, the "Nuclear Vault" includes reading lists and other bibliographic information on key documents and significant contributions to the nuclear history and policy literature. The "Vault" will also provide links to valuable Web sites in the field, as well as occasional compilations of photos."