Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The International Affairs Guide has several subguides (with more to be added). They are:
General Science Web Sites
Chinese Academy of Sciences
"Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) is a leading academic institution and comprehensive research and development center in natural science, technological science and high-tech innovation in China." The links page has links to the academies of sciences for many countries.
"The gateway to European research and development." Includes news, funding, results, and more. From the European Commission.
ECA Science and Technology Network (ESTNET)
Agency of the UN's Economic Commission for Africa. Includes information on organizations, events, African S&T Projects, Gender and S&T, documents, news, consultants database, and more.
Engineering for Change
"Engineering for Change provides a forum to connect, collaborate, solve challenges and share knowledge among a growing community of engineers, technologists, social scientists, NGOs, local governments and community advocates, who are dedicated to improving the quality of life all over the world."
Click the "i" button for more info.
High Tech Industrial Zones
Refers to areas with concentrations of high tech organizations that are involved in R&D. Includes country-specific pages.
Joint Research Center: European Commission
Includes several research institutes focusing on various sci/tech topics including reference materials and measures, transuranium, energy, environment, emerging technologies and more.
JST: Japan Science and Technology Agency
"As an organization which plays a central role in implementation of the Science and Technology Basic Plan, Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) comprehensively promotes all of the process from creation of knowledge, which leads to innovation in Japan, to return of research results to the society/nation... JST also provides scientific and technical information, increases understanding of science and technology (S&T), and promotes strategic international activities."
National Science Portals
"Following is a collection of links to other national portals of scientific information. Descriptions are taken from informational materials provided on the respective websites." From Science.gov, the US national science portal.
Publications Repository: European Commission Joint Research Centre
Institutional repository for the EC's Joint Research Centre. Click the "i" button for some of the collections included.
ResearchSEA: Asia Research News
"Designed for journalists to find out what research in all academic disciplines is happening in Asia. Includes news, ask an expert, list of contributing institutions, and more."
SciDevNet: Science and Development Network
"News, views and information about science, technology and the developing world." Find information by region and topic.
Science and Technology for Development: StDev
"Welcome on the Science & Technology for Development (StDev) website. This website is maintained by the United Nations Commission on Science and Technology for Development serviced by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development based in Geneva, Switzerland. The purpose of the website is to serve as a gateway for Science and Technology within the UN system."
Science: Friends and Partners
Friends and Partners is a site intended to aid Russians and Americans in understanding each other better. This section has resources in science.
STARnet: the NATO Science, Technology, and Research Network
"STARNET is a unique network that provides a searchable database of Web-based information resources that contain substantive information of relevance to the nine scientific or thematic nodes listed on the left of the page." Click the "i" button for a list of nodes.
UNESCO: United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
UN organiztion that promotes scientific cooperation across nations, among other activities.
"Zunia provides a space for professional learning and knowledge-sharing among development practitioners worldwide. Users can access and post news, events, best practices and publications that are searchable online and receive e-mail alerts on topics of their interest." Includes categories for environment and sci/tech.