Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Web Sites
"AidData catalogs nearly a million records of development finance flows. Below you can do a quick key word search of these records. If you desire, you can limit your search by specifying one or more of the tabbed criteria below. You can view the results online or export them for analysis in the software of your choice."
Development Studies Internet Resources
Extensive set of links from Dr. William A. Joseph. Click the "i" button for categories.
Earth WISE: Writings in Sustainable Ecology
"Earth WISE consists of a bibliography and selected abstracts of academic writings exploring a range of social and ecological science perspectives on sustainable development. This compilation attempts to integrate the social, cultural, economic and ecological dimensions of sustainability, giving special attention to the human causes of environmental impacts, the social organization of sustainability and the equity of sustainable development."
"Welcome to the Eldis website. Our aim is to share the best in development policy, practice and research. Browse more than 26,000 summarised documents from over 7,500 development organisations - all available free to download. Share your work with over 80,000 development practitioners."
Engineering for Change
"Engineering for Change provides a forum to connect, collaborate, solve challenges and share knowledge among a growing community of engineers, technologists, social scientists, NGOs, local governments and community advocates, who are dedicated to improving the quality of life all over the world."
Click the "i" button for more info.
Foreign Assistance: U.S. Government
"The Foreign Assistance Dashboard currently contains foreign assistance budget information for the Department of State and USAID. Other USG agencies that receive foreign assistance funds and additional funding and programmatic details will be phased into the Dashboard over time."
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 186 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world." Website has information about the IMF, news, country info, data and statistics, and publications.
Regional Economic Outlook Reports: IMF
"These reports discuss recent economic developments and prospects for countries in various regions. They also address economic policy developments that have affected economic performance in the regions and discuss key challenges faced by policymakers. The reports include data for countries in the regions."
Science and Technology for Development: StDev
"Welcome on the Science & Technology for Development (StDev) website. This website is maintained by the United Nations Commission on Science and Technology for Development serviced by United Nations Conference on Trade and Development based in Geneva, Switzerland. The purpose of the website is to serve as a gateway for Science and Technology within the UN system."
SD (Sustainable Development) Gateway
"The SD Gateway integrates the on-line information developed by members of the Sustainable Development Communications Network. In addition to over 1,200 documents available in SD Topics, we provide services such as a calendar of events, a job bank, the Sustainability Web Ring, a roster of mailing lists (listservs) and news sites dealing with sustainable development."
UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA)
DESA’s mission - to promote development for all - reflects a fundamental concern for equity and equality in countries large and small, developed and developing.
Within the framework of the United Nations Development Agenda, DESA works on issues ranging from poverty reduction, population, gender equality and indigenous rights to macroeconomic policy, development finance, public sector innovation, forest policy, climate change and sustainable development.
"We are not a bank in the common sense; we are made up of two unique development institutions owned by 186 member countries: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA)." Very important source of data on development.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
"The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
Click the "i" button for more on content.
World Development Report
"The World Bank's annual World Development Report provides a wide international readership with an extraordinary window on development economics. Each year, the report focuses on a specific aspect of development." Latest years available as online pdf files.
World Economic Outlook
"The World Economic Outlook (WEO) presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. It focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects."
"Zunia provides a space for professional learning and knowledge-sharing among development practitioners worldwide. Users can access and post news, events, best practices and publications that are searchable online and receive e-mail alerts on topics of their interest." Includes categories for environment and sci/tech.