Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General EU Sites
Top-level official English-language portal for the European Union (EU). Categories include: about the EU, your life in the EU, Documentation Centre, policies and activities, take part, media centre, and quick links to various EU organizations.
European Union at a Glance
Includes the following categories: panorama of the EU, Europe in 12 Lessons, countries, symbols of the EU, treaties and law, history, key facts and figures, Eurojargon, traveling in Europe, the EU in slides, and the budget of the EU.
European Union: A Bibliography
Extensive bibliography with categories primary sources; secondary sources; general textbooks, annual surveys and essays; general history; the EU and member states; treaties and European law; institutiions; social and political actors; policy-making and policies; and common foreign and security policy and external relations.
Ideas on Europe
Ideas on Europe aims to invigorate current discussion on Europe by providing an impartial, unbiased online platform where individuals can engage in informed analysis, comment, dialogue and debate.
Data sets and Statistics
European Community: OECD
"www.oecd.org/eu is a one-stop-shop for OECD reports and statistics on the European Community. Browse the documents in chronological order or by topic (e.g. economy, trade, development, environment, energy, social issues)."
Includes links to archives, bibliographies, Brussels, Cold War sites, discussion groups, EU institutions, Eurospeak, Federalism, historical documents, histories, journals, non-EU institutions, oral histories, and more.
Council of Europe
"The Council of Europe, based in Strasbourg (France), now covers virtually the entire European continent, with its 47 member countries. Founded on 5 May 1949 by 10 countries, the Council of Europe seeks to develop throughout Europe common and democratic principles based on the European Convention on Human Rights and other reference texts on the protection of individuals."
"Our journalists provide daily-updated news and information about EU policy, legislation, economic data and opportunities..."
Europa RSS News Feeds
News feeds include press releases of the day and feeds for all the policy areas.
"New Europe - the European weekly, published since 1993, is a unique product carrying news and analyses from 49 countries with a particular emphasis on the EU institutions and EU-World relations." Categories include politics, economy, EU policy, business, energy, EU institutions, EU neighborhood, arts and culture, fashion, blogs, and videos.
Europe's Foreign Policy Scorecard 2010
"The Scorecard – which looks at how member states and EU institutions contributed to the successes and failures of Europe’s foreign policy – shows how preoccupation with economic crisis led to the marginalisation of foreign policy in national capitals."
European Council on Foreign Relations
"The European Council on Foreign Relations is the first and only pan-European think tank in foreign policy. As private not-for-profit organisation..."
Policy areas of the European Union
"The EU is active in a wide range of policy areas, from human rights to transport and trade. Click on a policy title below for a summary of what the EU does in that area, and for useful links to relevant bodies, laws and documents." Click on the "i" button for a list of policy areas.
"The gateway to European research and development." Click the "i" button for more information.
EU Research Guides
European Union Internet Resources (Berkeley)
Categories are EU Institutions and bodies, EU by subject, EU Documents by type, and other items of interest.
European Union Legal Materials
"This guide is organized to follow the research strategy of a beginning researcher. It begins with the presentation of a general overview of the European Union history, development and structure and provides information for general resources. Following these, there are sections discussing the different types of materials created by the EU and presenting finding aids for these materials."