Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal and Conference Articles
Journal and conference articles are major resources for scholarly research in the engineering disciplines. The following databaese index journals and conferences relevant for Mechanical Engineering. Use the button to find if the Library owns the particlar article. This will also let you retrieve the full-text of the article, if an electronic version of the article is available. However, the button doesn't usually work for conference articles. Look in the catalog to see if the Library owns a particular conference.
Primary Databases for Mechanical Engineering
Databases can locate articles related to this subject. This link takes you to the databases. Below are a description of the most useful ones.
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. This is the premier engineering liturature database. Ei Village databases can be combined (Compendex, Inspec, PaperChem).
Inspec started as an index for liturature in physics, electrical and electronic engineering, and computer science, but has expanded to cover most areas of technology. Can be searched at the same time as Compendex. A great one-two punch for finding engineering literature. Ei Village databases can be combined (Inspec, Compendex, PaperChem).
Web of Science (Thomson Reuters, ISI)
Indexes scholarly journals from all disciplines with an emphasis on the sciences. Web of Science allows access to research literature through standard access points (author, title, subject) and to cited references (footnotes, bibliography) published with a scholarly paper. The "Cited Reference Search" enables you to find articles that have cited a specific work by an author. Web of Science "All Databases" combines BIOSIS, Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index), Medline, Derwent Innovations (patents), and other Thomson Reuters databases together; choose "All Databases" from the drop down menu at the top of the screen.
Secondary Databases for Mechanical Engineering
If you are doing interdisciplinary research, these databases might help you in your work. Use this link to reach the database list, click on the first letter of the databases, and scroll down, until you find what you need.
Materials Research Database with METADEX(ProQuest)
Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. ProQuest databases can be combined, such as Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Research Database, Corrosion Abstracts, and Aerospace Database.
PaperChem (Ei Village 2)
This comprehensive database covers international literature related to pulp and paper technology. PaperChem includes abstracts of journal articles, conference papers and technical reports with more than 480,000 records. Ei Village databases can be combined (PaperChem, Compendex and Inspec)
MEDLINE (Thomson Reuters, ISI)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Web of Science "All Databases" combines BIOSIS, Web of Science Core Collection (Science Citation Index), Medline, Derwent Innovations (patents), and other Thomson Reuters databases together; choose "All Databases" from the drop down menu at the top of the screen. Includes tutorials.
Corrosion Abstracts (ProQuest)
Corrosion Abstract is a comprehensive index to world literature on corrosion science and engineering, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance and equipment for many industries. ProQuest databases can be combined, such as Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Research Database, Corrosion Abstracts, and Aerospace Database.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses(ProQuest)
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997. Theses by GT authors are listed in the Catalog and in SMARTech: http://www.library.gatech.edu/search/theses_gt.php
Derwent Innovations Index (Thomson Reuters - patents database)
Derwent Innovations Index facilitates rapid, precise patent searching and merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index. Conduct powerful patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. Use additional descriptive information and coding to quickly grasp a patent’s significance and its relationship to other patents. Patents Research Guide: http://libguides.gatech.edu/patent_guide
Finding Technical Reports (NTIS and Dept of Energy SciTech Connect)
Links to technical reports databases -- NTIS and the U.S. Department of Energy's SciTech Connect databases.
Aerospace Database (ProQuest)
The Aerospace Database provides indexing and abstracts from more than 4,000 current serial and non-serial titles, including content from AIAA and NASA. ProQuest databases can be combined, such as Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Research Database, Corrosion Abstracts, and Aerospace Database.
Engineered Materials Abstracts (ProQuest)
Engineered Materials Abstracts is a comprehensive index to world literature on engineered materials such as polymers, plastics, rubber, ceramics and composites. The database addresses manufacturing practices, properties and applications of these materials. ProQuest databases can be combined, such as Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Research Database, Corrosion Abstracts, and Aerospace Database.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical research (STM) that offers access to more than 1,800 journals across 24 fields of science including the social sciences. ScienceDirect offers full-text articles, browsable tables of contents,and article abstracts. Most of these journals are indexed in Compendex.