It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated weekly.
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of of more than 370 periodicals and more than 220 books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books.
The database also provides selective coverage for additional 60 publications and an immense Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
The DETAIL Inspiration database is a source for descriptive information and graphics for new buildings. The database also includes structural details for buildings and access to feature articles from DETAIL magazine, DETAIL: Green, DETAIL: Inside, and Detail: Structure. The available articles date back to 1987.
The database Building Types Online is a resource for the study and practice of architectural design. The database offers exclusive and unparalleled, highly flexible and detailed search and browse access to the contents of the Birkhäuser program on building types.
All content was written and selected by internationally renowned authors in architectural design.
BuildingGreen Suite provides full access to BuildingGreen.com, a key source of information about improving the environmental performance, and reducing the adverse impacts, of buildings. The BuildingGreen Suite brings together articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) since 1992, product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database.
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 12,300 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, ECAADE, SIGRADI, CAAD Futures and others. Full text PDFs of some 9,600 papers are also available.
Access to thousands of open access ebooks from publishers such as University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press and open access academic journals and journal issues.
CAVEAT! about using Google Scholar
Google Scholar crawls the Web for articles, government and technical reports, open access material. It is good for Cited Searches. It can be starting place for your research but to find "the good stuff" that is vetted by experts you need to use the Library Subscription Databases.
Many publishers do NOT want to partner with Google and their materials will ONLY be in the Library Databases. Google Scholar has poor searching capabilities compared to library databases. You will save time by using the Databases with advanced searching.