Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The following lists a selection of print and online dictionaries and encyclopedias available to the Georgia Tech community.
Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online is the leading online resource for music research, a glorious compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Also includes access to The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. (revised 2006).
Oxford History of Western Music
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. Since its original publication in print Taruskin’s landmark study has received universal acclaim and numerous awards.
Harvard Dictionary of Music
"This classic reference work, the best one-volume music dictionary available, has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music."
Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
"A long-awaited companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, and compiled with the same meticulous scholarship and delight in detail, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives ample attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with unusual care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century."
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Available electronically through Oxford Music Online. The Georgia Tech Library also holds the 1980 edition in print. Call number: ML100 .N48. It is located in the Reference Collection, and it is available for in-library use only.
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Available online through Oxford Music Online. Also available in print in the Reference Collection at the Architecture Library (call number: ML100 .K35 2006).
Oxford Dictionary of Musical Terms
Available in print at the Main Library (call number: ML108 .D576 2004).
Virginia Tech Mulitmedia Music Dictionary
"All of the musical terms in the glossary have AIFF files associated with them. Your computer needs to have sound capabilities and a browser "plug-in" that can read the AIFF sound format. These pages contain musical examples from the 4-CD Norton Musical Example Bank."
Ashgate Research Companion to Experimental Music
Available at the Main Library (call number: ML197 .A78 2009).
Routledge Guide to Music Technology
Available in print at the Main Library (call number: ML102.S67 R68 2006).