Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to Start
The first step finding published material on your topic is to use a finding aid like the databases to the left. If you are unsure where to start, below is a quick guide to the databases to the left (for more information about a database click the information icon next to the title).
The second step is identifying a source for the material that you find. With full-text resources, this may be the same tool as you used in step one. For others, the FindIt@GT Link or button can allow you to identify whether the resource is available electronically, in print, or if you may need to request it through another library.
Primary Databases for Academic Articles:
- GeoRef - the premier database for geosciences with coverage of North America from 1785 and coverage of the world from 1933.
- Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database - subject areas include Meteorology, Climatology, and Oceanography and Geophysics and Earth Resources
- INSPEC - the premier database for all areas of physics research, including meterology, geophysics, atmospheric dynamics
- Web of Science - an interdisciplinary database for science, useful features include advanced citation analysis.
Primary Databases for Technical Reports:
- NTIS - Useful for searching government reports including reports of U.S. agencies like NOAA, NASA, as well as reports from international organizations and other governments
- NTRS - NASA technical report server, useful especially for technical reports on NASA Earth Observing System (EOS)
Table of Contents and Current Awareness Services
Current awareness and Table of Contents services can help keep you up-to-date in your field through periodic searches in databases or email delivery of the Table of Contents for the latest journals.
JournalTOCs is the largest free collection of scholarly journals Tables of Contents (TOCs). It contains TOCs for 15,065 journals collected from 687 publishers.
techXtra - Table of Contents
TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing.
ticTOCS - Journal Tables of Content
The ticTOCs Journal Tables of Contents service makes it easy for academics, researchers, students and anyone else to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers. With ticTOCs, it only takes a tick or two to keep up to date.
Conferences, Meetings, & Proceedings
The links below begin with a link to the GT Library eJournal page an excellent starting place to search for a journal title and to identify its availability to the GT community.
Following that link are subject links to open-access journals that relate to Earth and Atmospheric Sciences.
Finally, several individual open-access journals are highlighted. Please send me an email, or leave a comment below if you have other open-access favorites that you would like to share on this guide.
Geoscienceworld Millenium Collection
GeoScienceWorld is making earth science research information more accessible and easier to use with updated search and a clean design for its 46 eJournals from 28 publishers.
Open access to 600,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
The E-print Network is a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.