Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NOAA: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
From daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce, NOAA’s products and services support economic vitality and affect more than one-third of America’s gross domestic product. NOAA’s dedicated scientists use cutting-edge research and high-tech instrumentation to provide citizens, planners, emergency managers and other decision makers with reliable information they need when they need it.
NOAA: Coastal Services Center
The mission of the NOAA Coastal Services Center is to support the environmental, social, and economic well being of the coast by linking people, information, and technology.
Link to the School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences resource page on ethics.
Associations & Societies
The American Association for the Advancement of Science
The American Association for the Advancement of Science,
"Triple A-S" (AAAS), is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.
Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA)
The Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan professional organization that enhances knowledge and expertise by providing a neutral forum for information exchange, professional development, networking opportunities, public education, and outreach to more than 8000 environmental professionals in 65 countries. A&WMA also promotes global environmental responsibility and increases the effectiveness of organizations to make critical decisions that benefit society.
American Chemical Society
ACS is a congressionally chartered independent membership organization which represents professionals at all degree levels and in all fields of chemistry and sciences that involve chemistry.
American Geophysical Union (AGU)
The American Geophysical Union (AGU), which was established in 1919 by the National Research Council and for more than 50 years operated as an unincorporated affiliate of the National Academy of Sciences, is now a nonprofit corporation chartered under the laws of the District of Columbia. The Union is dedicated to the furtherance of the geophysical sciences through the individual efforts of its members and in cooperation with other national and international scientific organizations.
American Meteorological Society
The American Meteorological Society promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences and the advancement of their professional applications.
This site includes a searchable database of all AMS journals, papers and conference preprints.
Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
AERE was founded in 1979 as a means for exchanging ideas, stimulating research, and promoting graduate training in environmental and resource economics. AERE currently has over 900 members from more than thirty nations, coming from academic institutions, the public sector, and private industry.
AERE website provides research, journal articles, databases, bibliographies in environmental economics.
British Geological Survey (BGS)
Founded in 1835, the British Geological Survey (BGS) is the world's oldest national geological survey and the United Kingdom's premier centre for earth science information and expertise.
The BGS provides expert services and impartial advice in all areas of geoscience. Their client base is drawn from the public and private sectors both in the UK and internationally.
CAIT Climate Data Explorer
CAIT is one of the most trusted sources of climate data available. It is a free and open source for comprehensive and comparable climate and emissions data. CAIT is made up of a suite of tools that allow users to utilize the data to understand considerations of equity in climate negotiations, see transparency and available information in country climate action comitments, interact with historical emissions data, and dive into the methodologies behind future emissions projections. CAIT allows national governments, international organizations and independent researchers to perform relevant analysis and promote efficient action on climate change.
The Geological Society of America
Established in 1888, The Geological Society of America provides access to elements that are essential to the professional growth of earth scientists at all levels of expertise and from all sectors: academic, government, business, and industry.
The Geological Society's growing membership unites thousands of earth scientists from every corner of the globe in a common purpose to study the mysteries of our planet and share scientific findings.
Group on Earth Observations
The Group on Earth Observations is coordinating efforts to build a Global Earth Observation System of Systems, or GEOSS. The Document Library from this site includes full text GEO reports.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change is the leading body for the assessment of climate change, established by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) to provide the world with a clear scientific view on the current state of climate change and its potential environmental and socio-economic consequences.
International Glaciological Society
Welcome to the website of the International Glaciological Society. The IGS was founded in 1936 to provide a focus for individuals interested in practical and scientific aspects of snow and ice. Main sections of the website are:
* Journal of Glaciology
* Annals of Glaciology
* ICE, the news bulletin of the IGS
* Forthcoming IGS symposia and other meetings of interest
International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics
The International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) is the international organization dedicated to advancing, promoting, and communicating knowledge of the Earth system, its space environment, and the dynamical processes causing change.
The Right-to-Know Network provides free access to numerous databases and resources on the environment. With the information available on RTK NET, you can identify specific factories and their environmental effects; find permits issued under environmental statutes; and identify civil cases filed.
Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry
SETAC is a not-for-profit, worldwide professional organization comprised of individuals and institutions dedicated to the study, analysis and solution of environmental problems, the management and regulation of natural resources, research and development and environmental education. Our mission is to support the development of principles and practices for protection, enhancement and management of sustainable environmental quality and ecosystem integrity.
Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance (SEEA)
SEEA’s mission is to promote and achieve energy efficiency through networking, program activities, and education. The results of increased energy efficiency will be a cleaner environment, a more prosperous economy, and a higher quality of life in the Southeastern United States.
The Water Council
The Water Council is a coordinating committee created by the Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Planning Act.
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research
UCAR serves as a hub for research, education, and public outreach for the atmospheric and Earth system science community. We manage the National Center for Atmospheric Research and UCAR Community Programs on behalf of the National Science Foundation and the university community. Our headquarters are in Boulder, Colorado.
Online Lectures and Videos