Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cross-Disciplinary National Data Sets
These portals provide access to data across agencies and disciplines.
Data from U.S. agencies and departments.
Geographic data from U.S. agencies and departments.
Data from U.K. offices, bureaus, and other entities.
Data Sets and Repositories
Air Markets Program Data
The Air Markets Program Data tool allows users to search EPA data to answer scientific, general, policy, and regulatory questions about industry emissions.
AIRS - Atmospheric Infrared Sounder
AIRS uses cutting-edge infrared technology to create 3-dimensional maps of air and surface temperature, water vapor, and cloud properties. With 2378 spectral channels, AIRS has a spectral resolution more than 100 times greater than previous IR sounders and provides more accurate information on the vertical profiles of atmospheric temperature and moisture. AIRS can also measure trace greenhouse gases such as ozone, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, and methane.
Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) Program
The Atmospheric Radiation Measurement (ARM) Program was created in 1989 with funding from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) to develop several highly instrumented ground stations to study cloud formation processes and their influence on radiative transfer.
British Atmospheric Data Centre (BADC)
The British Atmospheric Data Centre (BADC) is the Natural Environment Research Council's (NERC) Designated Data Centre for the Atmospheric Sciences. The role of the BADC is to assist UK atmospheric researchers to locate, access and interpret atmospheric data and to ensure the long-term integrity of atmospheric data produced by NERC projects.
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH)
The Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH) is the UK's Centre of Excellence for integrated research in terrestrial and freshwater ecosystems and their interaction with the atmosphere. CEH hosts the Environmental Information Data Centre, the Natural Environment Research Council data centre for terrestrial and freshwater sciences. This brings together wide-ranging nationally-important datasets and expertise in managing diverse types of environmental data.
CISL Research Data Archive
The CISL Research Data Archive (RDA) contains a large and diverse collection of meteorological and oceanographic observations, operational and reanalysis model outputs, and remote sensing datasets to support atmospheric and geosciences research, along with ancillary datasets, such as topography/bathymetry, vegetation, and land use.
Climate Analysis Toolkit
The Climate Analysis Indicators Tool (CAIT) by WRI is a set of comprehensive and comparable greenhouse gas inventories, together with other climate-relevant indicators.
Global Change Master Directory
Welcome to NASA's Global Change Master Directory (GCMD). The GCMD holds more than 25,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. The project mission is to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research.
NASA Earth Observatory
NASA’s Earth Observatory provides a freely-accessible publication on the Internet where the public can obtain new satellite imagery and scientific information about our planet.
NASA Goddard Earth Sciences (GES) Data and Information Services Center (DISC).
The GES DISC is the home (archive) of NASA Precipitation and Hydrology, as well as Atmospheric Composition and Dynamics, data and information. The GES DISC also houses the Modern Era Retrospective-Analysis for Research and Applications (MERRA) data assimilation datasets (generated by GSFC’s Global Modeling and Assimilation Office), and the North American Land Data Assimilation System (NLDAS) and Global Land Data Assimilation System (GLDAS) data products.
National Climatic Data Center
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. NCDC operates the World Data Center for Meteorology which is co-located at NCDC in Asheville, North Carolina, and the World Data Center for Paleoclimatology which is located in Boulder, Colorado.
National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
NESDIS operates NOAA's National Data Centers for Climate, Geophysics, Oceans, and Coasts. NESDIS provides and ensures timely access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources
National Solar Radiation Data Base
The National Solar Radiation Data Base 1961-1990 (NSRDB) contains 30 years of solar radiation and supplementary meteorological data from 237 NWS sites in the U.S., plus sites in Guam and Puerto Rico.
The updated 1991-2005 National Solar Radiation Database holds solar and meteorological data for 1,454 locations in the United States and its territories.
NERC Earth Observation Data Centre
The NERC Earth Observation Data Centre (NEODC) is a Designated Data Centre of the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) and as such it is tasked with the acquisition, archiving and provision of access to remotely sensed data of the surface of the Earth acquired by satellite and airborne sensors.
The OAIster® database
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open archive resources that was built by harvesting from open archive collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster boasts more than 23 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Online Trends: A Compendium of Data on Global Change
This document provides synopses of frequently used time series of global-change data, including: Atmospheric Trace Gas Concentrations, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Climate, and Ecosystems.
PANGEA - Publishing Network for Geoscientific & Environmental Data
The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research.
International Satellite Cloud Climatology Project (ISCCP)
International Satellite Cloud Climatology Project (ISCCP) focuses on the distribution and variation of cloud radiative properties to improve the understanding of the effects of clouds on climate, the radiation budget, and the long-term global hydrologic cycle.
World Ozone and Ultraviolet Radiation Data Centre (WOUDC)
The Ozone data archive contains the following data categories: Lidar vertical profiles, Ozonesonde vertical profiles, Total column ozone (Daily and Monthly values), and Umkehr N-value and retrieved vertical profiles.
The UV data archive contains the following data categories: Broad-band, Multi-band, and Spectral.