It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
City and Regional Planning Research Guide: Maps/GIS
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The database allows users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Sign in as Guest if you do not want to create an account. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 10,000+ data variables.
SimplyAnalytic’s intuitive analysis tools generate detailed custom maps and reports for any location in the country. Users have access to demographics, consumer behavior (purchasing and product usage data including Consumer Expenditures), market segments and businesses (points-of-interest, establishments, employees, retail sales) for States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups. Users can also export data, maps, reports and GIS shapefiles for use outside of SimplyAnalytics.
The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress and will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions. The online checklist also contains links to existing digital images from the collection and will be updated as new images are added.
A collection of historical Atlanta city planning maps primarily from the City of Atlanta and the Atlanta Regional Commission. All maps have been georeferenced and can be viewed in Google Maps and Google Earth. Users can download GeoTIFF files and JPEG images of the maps.