Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is "Grey Literature"?
"That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." (Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature, Washington, DC, October, 1999)
Grey literature includes:
- Theses and dissertations
- Conference papers and proceedings
- Research reports
- Government documents
Conference Papers and Proceedings
Conferences are a major source of cutting edge research, particularly in science and engineering. At conferences, researchers present papers on the research they are doing and obtain feedback from the audience. The papers presented in the conference are then usually published in a volume called a conference proceeding. It may be months before such information is published as a journal article, or it may never be published.
Conference papers and proceedings can be very difficult to find because they:
- Can be published in different ways - as books, journal articles, abstracts
- Take several years to be published or may not be published at all
- May be deposited in an author or institutional repository
Conference Proceedings Research Guide
Guide created at the GT library that defines conference papers and why they are difficult to find, and details how to find conference proceedings/papers, as well as where to find them.
Government documents are an important primary source of information on a wide range of issues. They can be found through a search of the library catalog and government websites.
Government Information Research Guide
Guide to government information by the GT library's government documents librarian.
Georgia Government Publications
This digital archive contains scanned images of public documents of departments or agencies within the executive branch of the Georgia state government. Types of materials included are annual reports, budget documents, periodicals, maps, posters, and videos.
The official web portal for the U.S. government.
Theses and Dissertations
Theses and Dissertations are a rich source of information on a topic as they need to be original, and they need to be backed by an in-depth literature review, and they often cover a narrow topics that might be right on target for the subject you are researching. Many theses and dissertations are freely available now, and those that are not available online can be ordered through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Georgia Tech theses and dissertations are available to you, see below.
Georgia Tech Theses and Dissertations
Part of the SMARTech institutional repository for Georgia Tech, which also includes working papers, journal articles, learning objects, recordings of talks given at GT, research data, and more by GT authors.
Dissertations and Theses A&I
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Open Thesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in a large number of libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Research reports contain the results of research projects, investigations, and surveys, and are usually published by the funder or the body undertaking the research. They are often called technical reports.
They can be found by searching the websites of subject associations and research organizations, in addition to the library catalog and databases.