It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See the research guide. Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts.
Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather
Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history covering: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations.
Data relates to the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. Includes over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The database allows users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of computer readable social science data, containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Available data can be browsed by topic or searched. Note that ICPSR does not provide publications, reports, or ready-made statistics. What ICPSR does supply are the numeric raw data used to create publications, reports, and figures. The ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature is a continuously updated database of thousands of citations (not full text) of works using data held in the ICPSR archive. Users who desire to download members-only data and some publicly available data will need to establish an individual account with a GT email at a GT IP address (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/cgi-bin/newacct)
Statistical Insight is the most comprehensive source of federal statistics. It provides detailed abstracts, indexing, and locator information for all statistical reports of general research value issued by the federal government since the early 1960's. It includes direct links to all key statistical data available on federal agency World Wide Web sites as well as direct links to hundreds of reports stored within the Universe service itself. Statistical Universe enables easy access to statistics produced by major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The database also provides access to American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS).
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
US Federal statistical publications. 5,000 titles/year. Coverage from 1973; full text from 2004. (Also known as American Statistics Index, or ASI)
State government and business statistical reports. 2,200 titles/year. Coverage from 1980; full text from 2007. (Also known as Statistics Reference Index, or SRI)
International statistical publications from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. 2,500 titles/year. Coverage from 1980. Full text from 2007. (Also known as Index to International Statistics, or IIS)
Hundreds of thousands of statistical tables selected from the three publication modules. Tables are individually indexed to ensure precise search and retrieval. Coverage from 1999.
Company directory of 12 million U.S. businesses. Create customized lists by combining geographical, size of business and line of business variables. Geographical search options are: zip code, MSA, county, city, state and area code. Size of business search options are: sales volume and number of employees. Line of business search options are: yellow page heading and SIC code. Can also search directly by company name or ticker symbol. Each record also contains contact name(s).
Sign in as Guest if you do not want to create an account. SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 10,000+ data variables.
SimplyAnalytic’s intuitive analysis tools generate detailed custom maps and reports for any location in the country. Users have access to demographics, consumer behavior (purchasing and product usage data including Consumer Expenditures), market segments and businesses (points-of-interest, establishments, employees, retail sales) for States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups. Users can also export data, maps, reports and GIS shapefiles for use outside of SimplyAnalytics.
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
The United Nations Statistics Division, in its mission to promote the development of national statistical systems, has developed a central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more.
HSDL provides a collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents to homeland security officials, researchers, educators and students in an effort to further advance national research and policy development. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
The majority of the information comes from entities under the following organizations: Department of Homeland Security (DHS), Department of Defense (DOD), Department of Justice (DOJ), Department of State (DOS), Congress, and the White House.
Specific types of information include: Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws, Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports, Inspector General reports [various organizations], Presidential directives, executive orders and reports, Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reports, theses and research reports from federal/defense schools, and major federal commissions.